Tahini Marinade

Spoon the extra sauce over some rice

Spoon the extra sauce into my tummy

This is a great way to use up tahini. It works well with pork or chicken and can be made up to a day earlier. Use meat with the bone in for this dish. The longer the meat is in the marinade, the juicer it gets. Serve this with rice to soak up all the remaining sauce after cooking.

Tahini Buttermilk Marinade over Chicken LegsΒ 

  • 6 chicken legs, skin removed
  • 1/4 cup Greek yogurt
  • 1/4 cup buttermilk
  • 2 tbsp tahini
  • 2 cloves garlic minced
  • 1/2 lemon juiced
  • 2 tbsp olive oil
  • 1 tsp chili powder
  • 1/4 tsp ground cloves
  • 1/2 tsp ground cumin
  • Cayenne pepper sauce
  • Salt/pepper

Mix everything together in a large bowl. Taste for seasoning adding more hot pepper sauce for more spice as needed. Pour marinade over chicken legs in an oven-safe dish and let sit for at least 4 hours in the refrigerator and up to 24. Place in an oven at 365 degrees and bake until browned and cooked, about 45 minutes.

About Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

This blog attempts to collect some of the things I try to create with food and booze. Sometimes I succeed and sometimes I fail. My hope is to entertain and maybe help people think a little harder about what they decide to eat and drink.
This entry was posted in Chicken, Dinner, Food, Indian, Recipes and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Tahini Marinade

  1. ysaroo says:

    My mouth watered, this looks amazing!

  2. TasteFood says:

    Great marinade!

  3. Misky says:

    I’m adding tahini to my shopping list. Yum.

  4. Never seen tahini used like this before… love it!

  5. Very clever! Even the little one loves tahini…

  6. Tahini truly is so versatile! What a wonderful marinade

  7. Such a good thing, tahini. I always make sure that I’ve got a good stock of it in the larder.

  8. Eva Taylor says:

    It sure does look amazing, I bet they would be fantastic grilled with a little smoke on the BBQ!

  9. A_Boleyn says:

    The sauce made by the marinade looks so thick and creamy. Bet the chicken stays nice and moist too.

  10. ChgoJohn says:

    I’ve not cooked with tahini in some time. It sure does make a great looking marinade. Looks like I need to get me some tahini.

  11. Karen says:

    Your chicken sounds wonderful…what a great idea!

  12. Oh what a wonderful way to use tahini! Want!

  13. Kristy says:

    Tahini? Check. Buttermilk? Check. Drummies? Check. I only need Greek yogurt. I can handle that. πŸ™‚

  14. Raymund says:

    Now I have something to do with the leftover tahini, nice marinade

  15. Carolyn Chan says:

    That looks like a curry !

  16. I have just about that amount of Tahini left in my jar, hmmmm, maybe this would be a good Tapas night dish?

Leave a Reply

