Not Quite Minestrone

Pasta in soup is always a good idea

Pasta in soup is always a good idea

For those folks who believe that minestrone should be made only with vegetables I suggest you cover your ears and hum. Or if it must have tomato in it.

I am.

Of course I am also really enjoying what a little bit of lamb bone can do for flavor in a stock. Toast some old french bread in olive oil and place in the base of each bowl before spooning in the soup for a little something extra.

Minestrone with a Lamb Leg

  • 1 lamb bone (from a leg roast)
  • 4 cups chicken stock
  • 1 cup dried garbonzo beans
  • 1 cup dried kidney beans
  • 4 carrots chopped into small dice
  • 3 ribs celery cut into small chunks
  • 2 tbsp cilantro chopped fine
  • 5 cloves garlic minced
  • 1/4 cup diced red onion
  • 1 bunch kale leaves ripped from stems and torn up roughly
  • 2 cups small pasta
  • Dried cayenne pepper
  • Salt/pepper

Soak beans in cold water for 3 hours. Bring beans to a boil, add lamb bone and simmer until really tender, about 2 hours. Add more water if necessary. In a large stock pot heat 2 tbsp olive oil and saute onion until it softens over medium heat. Add carrot and celery and saute until the carrot begins to caramelize, about 10 minutes. Add garlic and cilantro and cook until fragrant. Add beans (including bone), stock and 2 cups water and bring to a boil. Season with cayenne, pepper and salt. Simmer soup until reduced by 1/3, about 45 minutes. Remove bone, add pasta and cook until al dente. Add kale and wilt. Season again with salt and serve hot poured over toasted bread.

About Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

This blog attempts to collect some of the things I try to create with food and booze. Sometimes I succeed and sometimes I fail. My hope is to entertain and maybe help people think a little harder about what they decide to eat and drink.
This entry was posted in Food, Italian, Recipes, Soups and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Not Quite Minestrone

  1. TasteFood says:

    I like the not quite version!

  2. ChgoJohn says:

    Must be soup day. You used lamb bone and I ham. I only hope my soup compares favorably to yours. 🙂

  3. Oooh nice. I make mine with donated ham bones, but I can imagine what a lovely flavour it would have with lamb!

  4. Delicious combination of flavours. We often have a gigot when friends come for dinner, so there is a lamb bone available regularly.

  5. Eva Taylor says:

    Kale? I’m actually loving that you put kale in it because the texture is quite hardy; I may even forgive you for omitting the tomatoes!

  6. Bill Peeler says:

    Looks awesome and hearty – I love the kidney and garbanzo beans.

  7. nrhatch says:

    I make NO BONES about it . . . I prefer vegetarian. :mrgreen:

  8. egg me on says:

    Pasta in soup is always a PLUS. I wish I could dunk my own piece of toasted bread in a nice bowl of soup.

  9. Purely.. Kay says:

    Pasta and a lamb bone go with EVERYTHING. I mean everything. My friend, this is delicious

  10. Carolyn Chan says:

    What a great way to use up leftovers.

Leave a Reply

