Potato Flapjacks

It's hard to get them as round as a regular pancake

It’s hard to get them as round as a regular pancake

Potato pancakes are very versatile. They go well with breakfast, lunch or dinner. They can be topped with any type of meat or sauce and work exceptionally well with applesauce. They also work well as a side with roast meats.

Oh and they take almost no time to make.

Potato Pancakes

  • 2 cups grated potato
  • 1/4 cup grated red onion
  • 2 eggs beaten
  • 1/2 cup flour
  • 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp sage
  • Salt/pepper
  • oil

Blot any excess water from shredded potatoes and onions. In a bowl mix everything together. Heat a cast iron skillet or frying pan and add 1 tbsp oil. Drop a spoonful of batter into oil and press it into a flat circle. Fry until browned and cooked then flip and repeat. Serve hot.

About Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

This blog attempts to collect some of the things I try to create with food and booze. Sometimes I succeed and sometimes I fail. My hope is to entertain and maybe help people think a little harder about what they decide to eat and drink.
This entry was posted in Appetizers, Breakfast, Dinner, Food, Recipes, Sides, vegetarian and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Potato Flapjacks

  1. Potato pancakes are one of my favorite go-to comfort foods. These look crispy and perfect.

  2. rutheh says:

    Yes, comforting just to look at. I know they’re delicious, too. This plate of potato flapjacks looks like a perfect meal to me. I like the dotted plate and checkered cloth. Thanks for all the likes and comments on my blog.

  3. niasunset says:

    WOW! Seems easy to make it and also seems so delicious too! I loved it. But can I ask something, is it possible to add cheese too, or it can be difficult to fry it with cheese…? Just an idea… Thank you dear Rufus, love, nia

  4. Eva Taylor says:

    My mom used to make the best potato pancakes, so good and crispy on the outside and soft and tender on the inside. We love eating them with smoked salmon and sour cream.

  5. sallybr says:

    Agree on all counts… comfort food, the fast kind 😉

  6. My mother always made these with leftover mashed potatoes…I was grown and living on the East Coast before I ever knew about grating the potatoes 🙂
    We might need to have these soon… 🙂

  7. ChgoJohn says:

    It’s the crispy coating. Love that!

  8. Beautiul. The world would be a sad place without potatoes 😦

  9. mad Dog says:

    They’d be great with a big squirt of salsa brava 🙂

  10. Bill Peeler says:

    They look delicious!

  11. I’m particularly fond of these with sour cream at breakfast.

  12. I love this sort of food – problem is I think I could probably eat an endless stack of them! 🙂

  13. TasteFood says:

    These are a huge hit with my family.

  14. Love this. I think of these as difficult, but I look at your recipe and realize that they are 1 2 3 done and clearly so gorgeous good.

  15. Amanda says:

    I always find what takes me the longest is squeezing all the liquids out. And cleaning up all the shreds of potato I leave all over the kitchen!

    But they are good!

  16. Oh my god, I love these, I’m so making them on the weekend! 😀 Will update you w/ the results 😉

  17. Pingback: Truffled Latkes | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

Leave a Reply

