Eat Your Sprouts

Starving children in China probably hate them as much as children everywhere else

Beloved by children everywhere

Few vegetables incur more hatred than Brussels sprouts. I would love to pretend that this dish will make converts of those many people, that cheese can bring us all together.

It probably will not.

For those enlightened and more vegetable-tolerant folks out there, this is very good. It is also quick to make and goes well with roasted meat dishes.

Quick Brussels Sprouts

  • 12-16 Brussels sprouts washed and dried
  • 1 tsp cayenne pepper
  • 2 tbsp butter
  • 1/8 cup Romano

Bring a pot of salted water to a boil and add sprouts. Cook for two minutes, or until sprouts turn bright green then strain and dunk in cold water to stop cooking process. Cut ends off sprouts and slice in half. Melt butter in a large frying pan and add cayenne pepper. Saute sprouts quickly until tender, but still crisp in the center. Remove from heat toss with cheese and serve.

About Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

This blog attempts to collect some of the things I try to create with food and booze. Sometimes I succeed and sometimes I fail. My hope is to entertain and maybe help people think a little harder about what they decide to eat and drink.
This entry was posted in Food, Recipes, Sides, vegetarian and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Eat Your Sprouts

  1. WIth that recipe of course I’ll eat my sprouts.

  2. ChgoJohn says:

    I thought I was the only one buying sprouts lately. Never tried them with cayenne, though. Thanks for the idea.

  3. sanjapanja says:

    My husband LOVES Brussels sprouts so I am always looking for new ways of making them.

  4. Now there’s a connection. I love brussels sprouts!

  5. I think Brussels sprouts are more palatable with bacon!

  6. Bought a bag of the stuff without knowing a single recipe (off the top of my head). I’ve heard lots about them being hated, I hope I can do a little something to try them, love them, and never end up on the opposite end. I’m just trying my best to get more veggies into our diets. And more veggies of the not-potato-fries kind 😉

  7. Eva Taylor says:

    I love the sprouts but totally understand the un-converted! I heard that if you score the stem end in a little X will make them less bitter, but then again butter helps.

  8. I am firmly on the brussels sprouts bandwagon! Yummmm.

  9. nijah06 says:

    I like brussel sprouts I just don’t how to cook them so I could get to love em’ more
    do you have any suggestions.
    Thanks

  10. Stephanie says:

    Ditto on the yay for brussel sprouts bandwagon. I also score the base, but more for textural reasons– easy way to avoid undercooked insides and overcooked outsides.

    Another conversion recipe includes butter, maple syrup, and chestnuts using only those sprouts that were harvested after a couple of light frosts.

  11. nancyc says:

    I love brussels sprouts-this sounds like a great way to make them!

  12. Brussels are the best and a little heat sounds like a nice addition.

  13. Kristy says:

    I can think of a more hated veggie in our house – beets. By far. While I’m not a huge fan of brussel sprouts, I do think cheese and cayenne would help me get them down. 😉

  14. Pingback: Sunday Suppers: Spring Chicken Part One | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

Leave a Reply

