Potatoes, Tomatoes and Capers Oh My

Toasted to perfection

Toasted to perfection

This is a perfect side for any roast or grilled meat. Although fresh tomatoes are preferred, a 14-ounce can of diced tomatoes can be substituted if necessary.

Greek Roasted Potato Wedges

  • 1 large onion chopped fine
  • 4 cloves garlic minced
  • 3 large Roma tomatoes diced
  • 2 1/2 lbs russet potatoes peeled and cut into wedges
  • 2 tbsp capers packed in salt
  • 2 tbsp fresh parsley chopped
  • Salt/pepper
  • 2 tbsp olive oil

Heat oven to 350 degrees. Heat olive oil in a large oven safe frying pan. Saute onion until golden over medium low heat then add garlic and cook until fragrant. Add tomatoes and capers and cook until tomatoes begin to release their juice. Add potatoes and season with salt and pepper. Stir well to coat and then place pan in oven. Bake until potatoes are done, about 40 minutes stirring every so often. Remove from oven and season with parsley, salt and pepper. Serve hot.

About Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

This blog attempts to collect some of the things I try to create with food and booze. Sometimes I succeed and sometimes I fail. My hope is to entertain and maybe help people think a little harder about what they decide to eat and drink.
This entry was posted in Food, Italian, Recipes, Sides, vegetarian and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Potatoes, Tomatoes and Capers Oh My

  1. Kristy says:

    I like how you cut the potatoes in this one. Tasty!

  2. Maureen says:

    Potatoes and tomatoes – what a wonderful combination you’ve made and the capers just make me smile.

  3. Forget being a side, I could enjoy this as a main.
    πŸ™‚ Mandy

  4. Eva Taylor says:

    I can see why this combo would be a total hit, loving the simple, fresh flavours. I agree with Mandy, add a poached egg and you’ve got a fantastic brunch dish.

  5. lauralayne says:

    So easy, yummy and hearty! I am going to try this within the next week. This will be a big hit with the boyfriend πŸ™‚ Thanks for sharing!

  6. Can almost taste the flavours in this dish. Such a beautiful reddish colour too! I don’t know why I feel it has some kind of resemblance to an Arab potato dish but I just can’t decide on which one πŸ™‚ will have to try this soon, perhaps tasting will help w/ the decision making πŸ˜‰

  7. TasteFood says:

    Oh my, indeed. Love the flavors.

  8. Like others, I’d be happy with this as a main too!

  9. Simply perfect! πŸ˜‰

  10. ChgoJohn says:

    A recipe that calls for fresh tomatoes! Won’t be long now and we’ll all have fresh tomaotes and this dish sounds like a great way to use them.

  11. egg me on says:

    Oh my, indeed!! Great photo.

Leave a Reply

