Squash Stuffed with Lentils and Spice

Creamy and Tasty

Creamy and Tasty

Who says a dish needs meat to be filling and good?

Well me most of the time, but this turned out really good without any meat. The spices mixed nicely with the lentils and slow stewing the beans gave them a great creamy consistency.

Of course you could brown up a little ground lamb if you wanted.

Normally I would have topped it with toasted seeds from the squash but I happened to snack a little heavy and none were left.

Acorn Squash Stuffed with Lentils

  • 1 cup dried lentils
  • 1/2 cup finely diced celery
  • 1/2 cup finely diced carrot
  • 1/2 cup finely diced onion
  • 1/4 tsp mustard seed
  • 1/4 tsp cumin seed
  • 1/2 tsp sesame seed
  • 2 tbsp chopped fresh parsley
  • 2 1/2 cups chicken stock
  • 2 cups water
  • Salt/pepper
  • 2 acorn squash
  • 2 tbsp olive oil

Cut acorn squash in half and scoop out seeds and guts. Coat seeds in oil and spices of your choice and roast at 350 degrees until crunchy, about 20 minutes. Place squash flesh side down in a baking dish with 1/4″ water and steam in an oven at 350 degrees until cooked, about 25 minutes. Remove from oven and when cool enough to hold scoop out most of the flesh leaving about 1/4″ all around. Place hollowed out squash on a baking tray and scooped out flesh in a bowl. In a large pot heat olive oil and toast mustard, sesame and cumin seeds until fragrant and beginning to brown. Do not burn. Add onion, carrot and celery and saute over medium heat until soft, about five minutes. Add lentils and stir to coat in mixture. Add stock and water, season with salt and pepper and simmer until beans become thick and creamy, about one hour. Add beans to scooped out squash and parsley. Stir well and spoon stuffing into squash. Place in oven and bake for 10 minutes then serve topped with roasted squash seeds.

About Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

This blog attempts to collect some of the things I try to create with food and booze. Sometimes I succeed and sometimes I fail. My hope is to entertain and maybe help people think a little harder about what they decide to eat and drink.
This entry was posted in Dinner, Food, Indian, Recipes, vegetarian and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Squash Stuffed with Lentils and Spice

  1. Erin Renee says:

    Oh my god. OH MY GOD. This looks amazing! And ground lamb is one of Jake’s favorite things…I can make a meaty one for him and a veggie one for me! YOU GUYS ROCK MY LIFE!

  2. G’day! Looks so warm and welcoming….so healthy indeed! 🙂

  3. I can hear my husband…Where’s the MEAT?
    Looks perfect to me! 🙂

  4. billpeeler says:

    What a great presentation – that looks picture perfect. And, yeah – I’m sure some ground lamb would be awesome, but your version looks simply delicious!

  5. It looks stunning and I bet it tasted just as good!

  6. Edible container! Good deal!

  7. Cecile says:

    I saw this on Pinterest. (I follow your blog but I’m behind in seeing some of your new recipes.) What an interesting combination – I can’t wait to try it!

  8. ChgoJohn says:

    Fantastic lentil recipe, Greg, and clever presentation. It’s been a while since I made some lentils. This is a great way to get reacquainted.

  9. Raymund says:

    Well presented, nice one

  10. nrhatch says:

    Acorn Squash makes the prettiest bowls. 😀

  11. Eva Taylor says:

    Very lovely and creamy looking.

  12. Stephanie says:

    Lovely idea… I stuff squash with grain-based mixtures (sometimes with legumes) regularly, but have never used a lentil base. Will have to give it a try.

  13. Sounds amazing! And presentation is fantastic!

Leave a Reply

