A Lighter Twice Baked Potato

There really is not that much cheese

There really is not that much cheese

Normally the Rufus Guide does not recommend removing any fat from a dish. Especially something like twice baked potatoes.

Here is a healthier option for those of you who want it, or ran out of cream and were to lazy to go buy some more.

Lighter Twice Baked Potatoes

  • 4 large baking potatoes
  • 1 egg
  • 3 green onions minced
  • 1 cup chicken stock
  • 3 garlic cloves
  • Grated Cheddar Cheese
  • Salt/pepper

Roast garlic until browned in oven. Bake potatoes in a 400 degree oven until done. When cool enough to handle slice in half and scoop out almost all of the flesh. Leave a little so the skins hold their shape. Mash potatoes with green onion and garlic. Add enough chicken stock to get to the right consistency. Season with salt and pepper then add egg and beat it in to potatoes. Spoon back into shells and bake at 375 degrees until potato begins to brown, about 15 minutes. Sprinkle on cheese and continue to bake until cheese melts.

About Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

This blog attempts to collect some of the things I try to create with food and booze. Sometimes I succeed and sometimes I fail. My hope is to entertain and maybe help people think a little harder about what they decide to eat and drink.
This entry was posted in Appetizers, Dinner, Food, Recipes, Sides, vegetarian and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to A Lighter Twice Baked Potato

  1. nrhatch says:

    Love twice baked potatoes. YUM!

  2. Kristy says:

    Love options for when you run out of things. I’m always out of things.

  3. great idea with the chicken broth! will have to try this!

  4. ChgoJohn says:

    I would be much more likely to prepare these than to run to the store for some cream. These are fine just as they are.

  5. Raymund says:

    Just this alone would make my day! Look at those gorgeous cheesy potaotes

  6. One of the best simple suppers ever.

  7. Yummy enough, even without the cream!

  8. I think twice baked potatoes are just the best. I also use chicken broth to mine, as well as my mashed potatoes, to both add flavor and lower the calories.

  9. Yummy and simple dinner idea. I think I’ll fix several.

  10. Mad Dog says:

    That’s a great baked potato!

  11. sallybr says:

    I actually prefer this version than the fully loaded with cream – we sometimes go the full fat route, but more often now opt for chicken stock, which I also use in mashed potatoes, like Teresa mentioned in her comment

  12. Bill Peeler says:

    Using an egg like that is brilliant to me – I would love this!

  13. Dr Dan says:

    That is way too healthy! Just love it!

  14. Amanda says:

    My boyfriend added broccoli to his baked potatoes to make it even healthier. Still, I love mine with bacon πŸ™‚

  15. Karen says:

    Love twice baked potatoes and lighter is always welcomed at my table.

  16. Good idea on making these in a lighter form. Then, you can eat more!

  17. A recipe for lazy people? Perfect! πŸ˜‰

  18. Purely.. Kay says:

    I just h ave a feeling you made these exactly for me πŸ™‚ lol. I love this recipe

  19. Paul says:

    Also great with scallions …

Leave a Reply

