Sausage and Grapes

Plump little grapes

Plump little grapes

Here is a really easy and quick meal. It can be served with pasta, rice or polenta. There can be a mixture of different grapes varieties if wanted, but try to use seedless.

Sausage and Grapes

  • 4 Italian sausage
  • 2 lbs grapes
  • 6 cloves garlic minced
  • 1/4 cup red wine
  • 2 tbsp balsamic vinegar
  • 1 tbsp chopped fresh tarragon
  • Salt/pepper

Heat oven to 365 degrees. Wash and dry grapes. In a large ovenproof frying pan brown sausage. Add grapes and stir well. Add wine, tarragon and garlic and deglaze pan. Bring to a boil then place in oven and bake until sausage is cooked and grapes are plump, about 20 minutes. Turn sausage once halfway during baking. Place pan back on burner and add balsamic. Cook on high heat until sauce is thick. Season with salt and pepper.

About Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

This blog attempts to collect some of the things I try to create with food and booze. Sometimes I succeed and sometimes I fail. My hope is to entertain and maybe help people think a little harder about what they decide to eat and drink.
This entry was posted in Dinner, Food, Italian, Pork, Recipes and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Sausage and Grapes

  1. Something so simple, yet appealing to me, TRUE!
    The recipe is now “on the list” to do! πŸ™‚

  2. Thanks for reminding me how wonderful roasted grapes can be. And what a nice marriage this is with the sausage, balsamic and the tarragon. Lovely.

  3. ChgoJohn says:

    I’ve never tried roasted grapes but why not? Everything else tastes so much better after roasting that grapes shouldn’t be any different. Thanks, Greg, for the heads up.

  4. Interesting – never roasted grapes before.
    πŸ™‚ Mandy

  5. Sausage…and GRAPES? That’s some crazy talk, right there. I have never heard of this, but I guess there’s no reason why not, what with wine being grapey and all. Me and you are obviously on a sausage cooking wave πŸ™‚

  6. Carolyn Chan says:

    This is the fourth interesting recipe that uses grapes in dishes that i would never have thought to pair together recently ! This looks yummy !

  7. rsmacaalay says:

    Interesting use of grapes, I only used it once before and I loved it in my curry. Got to try your recipe

  8. Very different – I love it.
    Of course, I love anything that’s easy right now…. πŸ˜‰

  9. Nice picture and excellent idea. Are they lucanica sausages – by that, I mean real Italian sausages not filled with bread and rusk, like most English sausages.

  10. Sounds scrumptious. Of course anything with sausage is scrumptious. Interesting combination, however did it come to be?

  11. Eva Taylor says:

    No need for a sweet dipping sauce, these grapes make a wonderful combo for spicy sausages.

  12. Tommy says:

    That’s one plump little … sausage. And grapes. Good stuff.

  13. Amanda says:

    I’ve heard of roasting grapes before, but never tried it. I love how simple this recipe is, looks like a great way to try roasted grapes!

  14. Yum! This looks fantastic!

  15. Dr Dan says:

    Great looking sausage!

  16. Rachel says:

    I have *got* to stop reading your blog at dinnertime… wow this looks dandy! Mmmmm…

  17. I actually like the look of those grapes more than the sausage!

  18. Kristy says:

    I am digging this one! Especially over pasta. Fabulous idea.

  19. Pingback: Sunday Suppers: A nod to Oktoberfest | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

Leave a Reply

