Apple Barley Pudding

Layers of yummy

Layers of yummy

Some folks may remember a certain holiday just past. The one with all the heavy drinking and food.

You know, President’s Day.

In an attempt to discover an authentic Irish dessert to follow the standard meal of alcohol and pickled meat, I stumbled across this simple and healthy option. Of course I did add alcohol to the mix, but hey it was President’s Day and all.

Apple Barley Pudding

  • 2 lbs cooking apples (granny smith etc) skinned, cored and cut into thin slices
  • 4 heaping tbsp barley
  • 4 cups water
  • 4 tbsp sugar
  • Juice of 2 lemons
  • 1 cup heavy cream
  • 2 oz amaretto
  • pinch powdered sugar

In a stock pot bring water and barley to a boil. Turn heat to a simmer and add apples. Cook until thick and apples have disintegrated, about 30 minutes. Pour contents in a blender and puree. Pour back into pot and add sugar and lemon juice. Cook another 5 minutes then remove from heat and let cool. Chill for 4 hours. In a large bowl add cream, powdered sugar and amaretto. Beat until whipped cream forms stiff peaks. Layer pudding in glasses with cream, alternating to form four layers. Chill until ready to serve.

About Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

This blog attempts to collect some of the things I try to create with food and booze. Sometimes I succeed and sometimes I fail. My hope is to entertain and maybe help people think a little harder about what they decide to eat and drink.
This entry was posted in Dessert, Food, Spirits, vegetarian and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to Apple Barley Pudding

  1. sallybr says:

    Here’s to President’s Day! πŸ˜‰

  2. ChgoJohn says:

    You know. I’ve usually wanted a drink after every Presidential Election day — and for widely disparate reasons. Never thought to have one specifically for President’s Day. Thanks to you, I’ve seen the light.

  3. rsmacaalay says:

    Looks like a nice dessert

  4. Very cool picture – we like that.

  5. Eva Taylor says:

    If course, one doesn’t really need an excuse to drink these days, but adding booze to a dessert is quite genius. Cheers!

  6. easybaked says:

    Haha…presidents Day…:). This looks amazing….!!

  7. colormusing says:

    Barley is not something you hear a lot about (I think I’ve only used it in Scotch Broth myself), so I’m excited about trying this recipe! It looks delicious!

  8. colormusing says:

    And I’m sure the Presidents would approve. ; )

  9. TasteFood says:

    I love President’s Day.

  10. Caroline says:

    Sounds delicious, love the layering. Adding alcohol never hurts. πŸ˜‰

  11. Purely.. Kay says:

    I think I would love this without the alcohol.. but I’m definitely interested πŸ™‚

  12. How interesting! And, as always, you guys present things in a way that makes me very, very hungry:)

  13. That’s inspired. We’re doing as much with whole grains as possible these days, and this is going on the list right now!

  14. eva626 says:

    we bought a bag of barley the other day and havnt made it….thanks for posting this…now we have to find Apples.

  15. Hmm…seems healthy with the barley. Kudos!

  16. Karen says:

    I just had a barley soup last night. Now I have to try barley for dessert. It sounds very good.

  17. Looks so creamy and delicious and you know I am always happy to spike a dessert. πŸ™‚

  18. Kristy says:

    Mmmmmm! I’ll take two please (for me).

  19. Hey, it’s got barley in it, and apples… must be healthy! πŸ˜€

  20. Pingback: Sunday Suppers: Eat Your Broccoli | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

  21. Pingback: Sunday Suppers: Irish Memories | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

  22. Pingback: An Apple A Day… | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

  23. Pingback: Sunday Suppers: The Luck of the Irish | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

Leave a Reply

