Roasted Red Pepper Hummus

A layer of olive oil on top is a good idea

A layer of olive oil on top is a good idea

The roasted red bell peppers really add a nice sweetness to this standard dish. The measurements below are just estimates since I like to flavor by taste.

Roasted Red Bell Pepper Hummus

  • 1 lb garbanzo beans
  • 2 red bell peppers
  • 2 tbsp tahini paste
  • 4-6 cloves garlic
  • 1/4 cup olive oil
  • 1 tsp cayenne pepper
  • 2 tbsp lemon juice
  • 2 tbsp chopped fresh parsley
  • Salt/pepper

Soak beans in cold water overnight then bring to a boil and simmer until tender about 45 minutes. Strain beans reserving 1 cup juice. Cut peppers in half and broil until skin is charred, about 10 minutes. When cool to touch peel skin. In a blender place 1 pepper, 3 cloves garlic, tahini and some of the beans. Blend adding enough olive oil and enough bean water to get the mixture to process. Taste hummus. Dump hummus in bowl and repeat with remaining pepper, garlic and beans, adding more or less of each ingredient depending on the flavor of the first batch. This is completely up to personal preference. When all beans are blended add other spices and lemon juice. If hummus is too thick add more bean liquid and olive oil. Make sure not to make the hummus too thin because there is no way to thicken it without more beans. Serve with pita bread.

About Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

This blog attempts to collect some of the things I try to create with food and booze. Sometimes I succeed and sometimes I fail. My hope is to entertain and maybe help people think a little harder about what they decide to eat and drink.
This entry was posted in Appetizers, Dinner, Food, Indian, Italian, Recipes, vegetarian and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

29 Responses to Roasted Red Pepper Hummus

  1. TasteFood says:

    I love hummus and roasted red peppers. Perfect combo!

  2. The addition of red peppers is brilliant!

  3. I’d love to make this but have not seen tahini paste in the supermarkets here. Is it called anything else?

    • I’m not sure. It’s heavy on the seasme and looks like peanut butter. Maybe it’s called something else in Europe?

    • A_Boleyn says:

      If you can get a cup or 2 of white sesame seeds you can toast them briefly in a dry, non-stick frying pan until they JUST start getting a bit golden and you get a toasty sesame smell and then grind them in a coffee grinder until you get a smooth mixture. You can add a bit of sesame oil (or vegetable oil) to help the mixture loosen a bit if you find it’s too dry. Store your ground sesame paste in in a small air tight container in the fridge as the ground paste can get rancid, as all fatty nuts do if they sit too long.

      Health food or organic store often carry these nut butters ie sesame, almond, and of course, peanut butter. πŸ™‚

  4. Holly says:

    Tahini is tahini even in europe I’m sure! It would be in the middle eastern / world foods section usually?

  5. Lovely, often buy this but have never made it!

  6. Andrea says:

    Wow. This looks great! Something new for my usual hummus!

  7. spree says:

    that’s what I’m talkin’ about! πŸ™‚

  8. sallybr says:

    Love all versions of hummus! Edamame, red bell pepper, a little avocado, white beans, you name it, I’ll eat it πŸ™‚

  9. Oh, yes…pretty sure this would go over well around here!
    Like, if I didn’t hurry, I wouldn’t get any!

  10. Eva Taylor says:

    What a great combination of flavours Greg, roasted red peppers are my favourite and the garbanzo beans are just so creamy. It’s a great little hors d’Ε“uvres.

    • A_Boleyn says:

      I’ve never tried a red pepper version before but was inspired to try it on Easter and it was excellent. πŸ™‚

      By the way, for a really creamy hummus, make an emulsion of the tahini, lemon juice and water FIRST and then gradually add your chickpeas to the mixture (1/3 portion at a time), with water as needed to get it thin enough to process. It really makes a difference.

      • Eva Taylor says:

        Wow, that’s a great tip Maria. My friend Lorraine of Not Quite Nigella posted a few weeks ago a trip to Jordan where she said she had the most creamiest hummus ever; I bet that’s how they do it. I must remember to do it next time, I adore hummus and this would just take it over the top.

  11. Bill Peeler says:

    I once tried to make hummus – did NOT turn out well (even though it’s got to be one of the easiest things in the world to make). Wonder if it’s time to re-try . . .regardless – yours looks delicious!

  12. Sherry says:

    oh I love hummus. I must try this one!

  13. I’m a fan! Looks good!

  14. A_Boleyn says:

    I keep meaning to roast/grill some red peppers and add them to my hummus. It’s delicious plain with just the chickpeas, lemon juice, sesame paste (tahini), salt and pepper and enough chickpea cooking liquid to be able to process it already but the red peppers can only enhance the flavour.

  15. What a pretty and tasty dip to serve with just about anything. I am a hummus crazed lunatic so this version definitely looks fantastic to me!

  16. ChgoJohn says:

    As many times as I’ve enjoyed hummus, I’ve never made it. Yours sounds good enough that I really should give it a try. Thanks, Greg.

  17. nrhatch says:

    I love making hummus . . . quick, easy, delicious, nutritious! πŸ˜€

  18. Michelle says:

    Very nice. A tapas restaurant here does a trio of hummus: plain, red pepper and black bean. Delicious.

  19. I love hummus and make my own at home. I have been in the US for the last so many days and am so surprised that many varieties are readily available at any grocery store or deli. It’s difficult to buy ready-made ones in Tokyo (though there are so many Turkish and other restaurants that serve it it’s not difficult to eat in restos).

  20. That layer of olive oil on top is how all Middle Eastern-like dips are and should be server! Yum!

  21. Pingback: Sunday Suppers: Game Day’s Approaching Part One | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

Leave a Reply

