Apple(sauce) Turnovers

That puffed up very nicely

That puffed up very nicely

So maybe someone made too much applesauce a day or two ago. Then maybe someone’s wife invited over a few folks for dinner. What to do for dessert?

This could work fairly well.

Any sweet fruit filling can be used in this. Heck fresh apples could be chopped up and added with the applesauce if the mood strikes right.

Apple Sauce Turnovers

Roll out pie dough and cut into rectangles 3″x6. Place 3-5 tbsp applesauce on the center of half of the rectangle. Brush the rest of the dough with egg wash and fold over filling to make a square. Fold all the edges together and place on a greased baking sheet. Continue until all dough is used up. Brush the outside of the turnovers with remaining egg wash and sprinkle liberally with cinnamon sugar. Bake in a preheated oven at 365 degrees until done, about 25 minutes. Serve hot with ice cream or whipped cream.

About Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

This blog attempts to collect some of the things I try to create with food and booze. Sometimes I succeed and sometimes I fail. My hope is to entertain and maybe help people think a little harder about what they decide to eat and drink.
This entry was posted in Dessert, Food, Recipes, vegetarian and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Apple(sauce) Turnovers

  1. Yum. I haven’t actually tried applesauce before, but I’ve seen it on your blog, and at supermarkets. Did you have a recipe for it on the blog? I’d like to try these some time πŸ™‚

  2. Excellent – I will be doing this real soon. Like this Sunday morning.

  3. Eva Taylor says:

    Could make a nice breakfast too!

  4. I could happily eat two of those -NOW.

  5. TasteFood says:

    So easy and delicious – perfect comfort food.

  6. ChgoJohn says:

    These look great and I bet your kitchen smelled heavenly with them in the oven.

  7. colormusing says:

    Great idea, and sounds delicious! I love making my own applesauce, and now I’ll make sure I have pie crust in the freezer.

  8. What a wonderful idea !

  9. Bernice says:

    Looks delish!!!

  10. nrhatch says:

    Good use of ingredients.

  11. Gorgeous, and sounds delicious and easy. Pinning to try soon!

  12. Ooh yes..hot custard would be good too!

  13. spree says:

    ooo, you do such good things in your kitchen!!

  14. Michelle says:

    It’s like an American version of chausson aux pommes. My favorite! Do you ship to Kentucky?

  15. rsmacaalay says:

    I love this sweet treat, nice for breakfast

  16. egg me on says:

    Ohh! Playing catch up, so now I see what great things you did with that applesauce. These little turnovers look tasty. You better have put vanilla ice cream on top …

  17. Wow! They look amazing… πŸ˜‰

  18. Pingback: Sunday Suppers: A nod to Oktoberfest | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

  19. Pingback: An Apple A Day… | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

Leave a Reply

