Pork and Mustard Make a Great Team

Some people ate most of the pork before I could take the photo

Some one ate most of the pork before I could take the photo

This is a quick and simple way to serve pork. The recipe will work well with bone in or boneless pork chops. Any mustard can be used but Dijon will yield the best results.

Pork Chops with Mustard Sauce

  • 3-4 pork chops about 1″ thick
  • 1/4 cup white wine
  • 2 tbsp lemon juice
  • 2 cups chicken stock
  • 3 tbsp Dijon mustard
  • 1 tbsp chopped fresh thyme
  • 3 green onions white and green parts chopped fine
  • 2 cloves garlic minced
  • Salt/pepper

Season pork with salt and pepper. Melt 1 tbsp butter and 1 tbsp olive oil in a pan large enough to hold all the meat in 1 layer. Add garlic and cook for 30 seconds then brown chops for 3 minutes per side over medium heat then set aside on a plate. Add white parts of onion to pan and fry until softened.Ā  Add wine to pan and deglaze. Add lemon juice and mustard and stir to mix completely. Add broth and bring to a simmer. Add thyme and season with salt and pepper then place chops back in pan and cook until done turning pork every so often to coat in sauce. When chops are done remove from sauce and if necessary continue to cook until thickened. Spoon mustard sauce over pork and serve hot.

About Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

This blog attempts to collect some of the things I try to create with food and booze. Sometimes I succeed and sometimes I fail. My hope is to entertain and maybe help people think a little harder about what they decide to eat and drink.
This entry was posted in Dinner, Food, Pork, Recipes and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to Pork and Mustard Make a Great Team

  1. Sounds like a wonderful way to enjoy a pork chop!

  2. Yes they do!!! We use a mustard BBQ sauce to grill our pork! It is to die for! Now I want to try yours! Thank you!

  3. Eva Taylor says:

    A lovely combo for sure; who wouldn’t want to eat that?

  4. Jasline says:

    I’ve heard and read a lot about mustard pork chops but haven’t got around making it until you reminded me. Looks very delicious!

  5. egg me on says:

    Look at how thick that chop is! I’m liking my own chops thinking about this.

  6. Karen says:

    Looks and sounds delicious.

  7. billpeeler says:

    Such great flavors! You can’t go wrong with that – looks awesome!

  8. Misky says:

    I add crushed black mustard seeds to a similar recipe for a solid, hot kick that runs up the back of your head. Splendid sensation! I’ll give your recipe a try next week; I have everything that I need for it. šŸ™‚

  9. sallybr says:

    One of the first recipes I cooked from a cookbook was a pork tenderloin brushed with a mixture of heavy cream and mustard – so simple and so delicious! I don’t even remember which cookbook it was from, but your post brought me fond memories of my days as a beginner in the kitchen

  10. Michelle says:

    Looks delicious.

  11. windykitchen says:

    Yummm! Every time I make pork, I wonder why I don’t cook it more often. This looks delicious!

  12. I have to agree with you on pork and mustard – I can many different kinds of mustard in my fridge too – sorry ketchup. Happy Friday!

  13. I’m slowly coming around to mustard having had a mustard sauce on chicken last week that tasted pretty good. I’ll have to try this on pork now!

  14. They are perfect partners indeed and this is a wonderful recipe!

  15. Rachel says:

    Mmmmm… I’m huuuungry! I like it “sweet” so I usually add some sort of fruit jam (apricot is good, or peach) to my mustard sauces but this sounds dandy as it stands!

  16. Sounds like my kinda dish!

  17. Well, I imagine it was hard waiting for the picture to be taken! Pork and mustard pair nicely and throw in some wine-and you have a complete meal!

  18. nrhatch says:

    That looks like a baby hippopotamus in a muddy pool. šŸ˜€

  19. This is an intriguing recipe! Jake doesn’t like mustard, but I’m going to make this when my parents come to visit us!

  20. ChgoJohn says:

    Thanks to Mandy, I make my own mustard now and I’m going use it with your recipe. It’s a grainy mustard with a bite. I think it will be fine and will let you know. Thanks for the recipe.

  21. OMG – my mouth is watering! Of course, it is dinner time and I haven’t eaten. But, I read this just in time – I have been sipping on some white wine ( a great little chardonnay called Accord from Naked Winery) and have just enough left in the bottle to do this tomorrow. Pork chops are coming out of the freezer now! Thanks!!!

  22. It looks fantastic Greg! Thanks for this great recipe šŸ™‚

  23. rsmacaalay says:

    Nice sauce you got there

Leave a Reply

