Cranberry Quick Bread

The color yummy

The color yummy

There happened to be some cranberry jelly left from this invention. This meant it was time to come up with a creative way to use it up. Cranberry sauce could be substituted if you don’t want to make the jelly. If you do, follow the recipe from the link above.

Cranberry Quick Bread

  • 1 cup frozen cranberries
  • 1/2 cup shelled raw sunflower seeds
  • 1/3 cup cranberry jelly/sauce
  • 2 cups unbleached white flour
  • 1/2 cup packed brown sugar
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 4 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 cup buttermilk
  • 1/3 cup oil
  • 2 eggs

Mix everything but the cranberry jelly in a bowl over medium speed until well blended. Heavily grease a bread pan and pour in 3/4 of the batter. Spoon the jelly into the center leaving a 1/4 border of batter around the entire pan. Cover with remaining batter. Place in a preheated oven at 350 degrees and bake until a knife passes cleanly through the loaf, about an hour. Let the bread cool completely before removing from the pan.

About Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

This blog attempts to collect some of the things I try to create with food and booze. Sometimes I succeed and sometimes I fail. My hope is to entertain and maybe help people think a little harder about what they decide to eat and drink.
This entry was posted in Breakfast, Dinner, Food, Recipes and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Cranberry Quick Bread

  1. Eva Taylor says:

    This would totally rock toasted with a dollop of butter!

  2. It would be the perfect breakfast on a cool spring Sunday.

  3. Great idea, my boys have been begging for some easy grab and go breakfasts and cranberries are not just for thanksgiving.

  4. Love that you added the sunflower seeds.

  5. Bill Peeler says:

    I love sweet breads like this. I’m sure the sunflower seeds and cranberries are awesome together!

  6. I like quick breads so much….they are about the only kind of breads I have time to make. This recipe is right up by alley. Thanks.

  7. sallybr says:

    What a coincidence! I just made a sourdough with cranberries, and loved it! Great addition for bread, I did not expect to like it so much!

    stay tuned, I’ll be blogging on it sometime in the near future….

  8. ChgoJohn says:

    I was expecting to see some fresh/dried cranberries but adding the jelly would bring a ton more flavor, too. Great idea & recipe, Greg.

  9. spree says:

    Buttermilk makes for such a tender loaf of sweet bread and the cranberries, such a tartful bite! Num!

  10. I love it. This would be perfect on my plate. Love the addition of the jelly.

  11. TasteFood says:

    I love cranberry bread. It will be nice to try with buttermilk.

  12. Now, I never would have thought of adding jelly! That must have tasted wonderful!

  13. It looks amazing Greg. I don’t have any cranberry jam, but don’t mind going to the store if the result is this bread… 😉

  14. Alison says:

    This looks so good!

  15. petit4chocolatier says:

    The colour is yummy!! This is a beautiful cranberry bread 🙂
    I love the sunflower seeds and jelly added to the recipe. This is unique. I am definitely going to attempt making this!

    I hope you don’t mind if I reblog your link on my reblog tastings I page?

  16. Mmm, would dried crannies work by any chance? I see those more than frozen ones… Looks delicious 🙂 Oh, how about the canned ones that come in the sauce? Not worth the risk…or…?

  17. Pingback: Sunday Suppers: Leftover Magic Part #2 | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

  18. Only few more weeks and off to Bangkok (minus plaster by then, 🙂 :)) and I will have a chance to go on a food- (and other) shopping trip – so tinned cranberries are already on my list now. Thanks Greg. Carina

  19. Pingback: Sunday Suppers: The Thanksgiving Leftover Edition | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

Leave a Reply

