Philly Cheese Steak is not for the Timid

Melty cheese

Melty cheese

This is a true Philly Cheese Steak. No arguments. No Cheese Whiz either.

Philly Cheese Steak

  • 4 sub rolls
  • 1 lb flank steak cut thin
  • 2 tbsp butter
  • 1 onion sliced thin
  • 1 green pepper sliced thin
  • 3 cloves garlic minced
  • 3 mushrooms sliced thin
  • 1/4 cup white wine
  • Sliced provolone
  • Salt/pepper

Season meat with salt and pepper. In a large saute pan melt butter. Add garlic and fry until fragrant. Fry flank steak over high heat until browned on both sides and done, about four minutes. Remove meat from pan and slice into thin strips once meat is rested. Saute onion over medium heat until golden then add peppers and mushrooms. Cook until soft then deglaze pan with wine. Remove from heat when wine is evaporated. Slice buns almost in half and fold out into a single layer. Pile each roll with meat, then vegetables then top with cheese. Bake in oven at 365 degrees until cheese melt, about five minutes. Serve hot.

About Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

This blog attempts to collect some of the things I try to create with food and booze. Sometimes I succeed and sometimes I fail. My hope is to entertain and maybe help people think a little harder about what they decide to eat and drink.
This entry was posted in Beef, Food, Italian, Recipes and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Philly Cheese Steak is not for the Timid

  1. Amy Tong says:

    Yum! I’m drooling over this Philly Cheese Steak! Yes, it sure is the real deal! I’ve never like that Cheese Whiz thing anyway. LOL…

  2. That is a very good idea. Never seen, nor heard of it before. I had a bad feeling that processed cheese would be involved, but how wrong I was:)

  3. Eva Taylor says:

    It’s eight in the morning and I can’t believe I’m craving one of those. YUM. I really like the seasonings you put on the meat and it must just go amazingly well with the provolone. Cheez whiz is plastic.

  4. ChgoJohn says:

    You just cannot find a good Philly cheese steak sandwich here. It’s all about Italian beef. Now I can give up the search and just make one for myself. Thanks, Greg.

  5. windykitchen says:

    Oh man, it’s way too early in the morning for me to be craving a Philly cheesesteak! Looks delicious…

  6. G-LO says:

    Lookin good Rufus! Way better looking than that slop they serve in my old South Philly neighborhood (you know the places I’m talking about!).

  7. Ooh that looks good – it’s a new one to me but I really fancy one now!

  8. billpeeler says:

    That looks awesome – I’m literally drooling in my cubicle right now . . .

  9. sallybr says:

    Made Philly steak sandwiches once for a Super Bowl party at home, before my blogging days. Buns and all, it was great!

    Now, I opened your post and said to mysel – “that’s unusual, having a Philly steak sandwich served with bananas” 🙂

  10. Mad Dog says:

    That looks great and far better without Cheese Whiz 😉

  11. kristina says:

    Uh oh, the Philly cheesesteak I had last weekend in Philly also had some ground sausage in it…whose was more authentic?! I guess a taste test soon is a good idea right? 🙂

  12. I’ll have to make this after my physical next Monday.

  13. egg me on says:

    Yowza! I’m in love.

  14. Kristy says:

    No arguments from me. Thank you for sparing us the cheese whiz.

  15. rsmacaalay says:

    One of the best sandwiches ever invented!

  16. Be careful with your claims of authenticity. I have gotten several hateful comments about how my cheese steak recipe was clearly not authentic. They sited by lack of cheese whiz as proof. Poor souls. I deleted their comments because clearly they have no understanding of the wonders of REAL cheese.

Leave a Reply

