Hash Browns

The butter really makes them crispy

The butter really makes them crispy

These were a big treat for us. Katherine made them on Christmas morning and considering how much butter they used, we probably won’t make them again until next Christmas. We’ll look forward to that all year.

Hash Browns

  • 1 lb russet potatoes
  • 1 small onion (about 1/3 cup)
  • 4 tbsp butter
  • black pepper to taste
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp Old Bay seasoning (optional, but highly recommended)
  • 1 tbsp flour

Wash and grate potatoes. Grate onion and mix with potatoes in a large bowl. Use a clean dry dish towel (make sure it’s a smooth one) to squeeze out extra water from the vegetables. Place the mix in the dish towel and squeeze over the sink. Return the mix to the bowl and pat down again. Stir in salt, pepper, Old Bay and flour. Melt butter in a large skillet set over medium heat. Lower the heat to medium low and add potato mix. Pat the potatoes into one even layer and let cook until the underside is brown and crispy, about 10 minutes. Once browned on the bottom, you can flip the mix out onto a plate and then return it to the pan uncooked side down. Or you can just cut it and flip it in the pan using a rubber spatula. Cook until golden brown on both sides, about another 10 minutes. We like to stir the potatoes for another minute or so to break the bits apart and brown more of the potatoes, but you can serve them in wedges too. Wedges are prettier.

About Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

This blog attempts to collect some of the things I try to create with food and booze. Sometimes I succeed and sometimes I fail. My hope is to entertain and maybe help people think a little harder about what they decide to eat and drink.
This entry was posted in Breakfast, Food and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

30 Responses to Hash Browns

  1. eva626 says:

    these look delicious just like every other post of yours!!!! my mom makes’em like this all the time!

  2. nancyc says:

    I love hash browns! But I always buy the frozen–I really need to try making my own. I’m sure they’re so much better that way!

  3. TasteFood says:

    I’m going to sleep now so I can wake up and make these in the morning.

  4. rutheh says:

    What a tempting plate. Mmmm.

  5. ChgoJohn says:

    These sound so very good! It’s Christmas morning. Use all of the butter you wish. πŸ™‚

  6. Oh, my gosh these sound fantastic.. who cares how much butter they take!

  7. Oh I battle terribly to cut back on the amount of butter I use – it’s so darn difficult!
    Think I will be making some hash browns for lunch now.
    πŸ™‚ Mandy

  8. That is such a good looking breakfast. Seems like just the right amount of butter to me:)

  9. I love hash browns but I rarely make them. When I do make them I don’t need much to go along with them because all I want are the potatoes. These look fantastic.

  10. Do half butter, half olive oil if it bugs you…
    Personally, I don’t see the problem πŸ˜‰

  11. Mad Dog says:

    They do sound like something I should cook for lunch right now πŸ˜‰

  12. A_Boleyn says:

    This is certainly a delicious dish though, as you said, it’s generous with the butter. However, I just ate a duck poutine which featured duck fat to roast the potato wedges, more duck fat and drippings in the gravy. No duck fat in the cheese curds but they had their own fat content. And some duck meat. So I have no high moral ground to stand on. πŸ™‚

    http://a-boleyn.livejournal.com/121751.html

  13. zestybeandog says:

    I love the use of Old Bay! I like to add to several other things than just crab boil/shrimp boil!Yum!

  14. Eva Taylor says:

    Very similar to the RΓΆsti potato post, but with more butter. Yum.

  15. spree says:

    Like the addition of the Old Bay Greg, and I never knew to add flour!

  16. windykitchen says:

    Old Bay! Interesting. I ran across a burger recipe the other day that called for hash browns on top of the burger — these would be awesome on a burger!

  17. Kristy says:

    Hash browns and omelettes were the first dishes I made on my own as a kid. I made them for mom and dad’s breakfast in bed and was so proud of myself. Of course back then I didn’t know much about seasoning, so they were pretty basic. These look much better. πŸ™‚

  18. That looks like a heavenly plate.

  19. Alison says:

    These look so good!

  20. Oh, they look so good! Now, where’s the white gravy…

  21. Kas says:

    You can’t go wrong with hash browns!!

  22. petit4chocolatier says:

    Looks so good!! I am going to prepare this πŸ™‚

  23. nrhatch says:

    Hash Browns are delicious. Thanks, Greg.

  24. egg me on says:

    Ooo, Old Bay! Nice touch. I’d say it’s 100% required.

  25. The hash browns look great! Now next time can you tell me how to get my eggs to look as pretty as yours do? πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

