Honey-Glazed Ham

Pork is the perfect meat

Pork is the perfect meat

This is such a classic dish and the leftovers are wonderful. We always end up buying a ham or turkey after the holidays, because they tend to go on sale then.

Honey-Glazed Ham

  • 1 6-10 pound bone-in ham
  • roughly 20 whole cloves
  • 1/3 cup honey
  • 1/3 cup Dijon mustard
  • 1 tbsp sweet brown mustard
  • 1 tsp horseradish

Preheat to 325°F. Line large roasting pan with foil. Trim off skin and all but about a 1/4 inch fat. Place ham, fat side up, in prepared pan. We used a roasting pan with a rack to keep the ham from sticking to the foil. Roast until thermometer at bone registers 130°F to 135°F. This will take about 10 minutes per pound.

Remove ham from oven; increase temperature to 425°F. Lightly score fat on ham in diamond pattern. Rub glaze thickly over top and sides of ham. Put a clove in each point of the diamonds, or most of them along the top. Return ham to oven and roast until glaze is deep brown and bubbling, about 25 minutes. Let ham rest about least 20 minutes.

About Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

This blog attempts to collect some of the things I try to create with food and booze. Sometimes I succeed and sometimes I fail. My hope is to entertain and maybe help people think a little harder about what they decide to eat and drink.
This entry was posted in Dinner, Food, Pork, Recipes and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

29 Responses to Honey-Glazed Ham

  1. sallybr says:

    A great recipe that for some reason we don’t make often enough….
    Good that you brought it to my attention, I see one in our future! 🙂

  2. TasteFood says:

    Beautiful – perfect for a party.

  3. Carolyn Chan says:

    Great idea to pick up post Christmas hams !

  4. That is a juicy looking ham. You always make everything look so good. Do you have a recipe for split pea soup? Take care, BAM

  5. I love ham, and they are indeed my favourite leftovers of Christmas dinner! Lovely recipe, I’m salivating! Have you ever tried adding fennel to the ham joint? Excellent little addition of flavour, highly recommended. Check out my food blog: http://www.jamesforrestfood.wordpress.com cheers and keep up the good work!

    Happy eating!

  6. Very sexy looking ham. That must taste wonderful – very envious:)

  7. Mad Dog says:

    That’s a very good time to buy – they cost a fortune in December 😉

  8. I could eat ham like this all year around. Delicious.
    🙂 Mandy

  9. The week after New Year’s is fill up the freezer time…there are tons of leftover goodie in the meat case!

  10. Eva Taylor says:

    Now that’s he perfect combo of flavours in my book; love Dijon and honey together.

  11. ChgoJohn says:

    Looks great, Greg. For me, the ham sandwiches and eventual split pea soup are reasons to cook the ham. Getting one on sale is all the better.

  12. egg me on says:

    Yes yes yes yes yes please. That ham looks amazing. I’m imaging all of the ham sandwiches I’d eat with that.

  13. Bought a ham this week but boiled it. Damn, will have to go and buy another now so I can make your versión!

  14. petit4chocolatier says:

    I am catching up on posts and am very hungry now. Roast, martini, potatoes & kale, and a little ham on the side! Everything is incredible! Greg and Katherine, you are amazing!!

  15. Yum, we had ham over Christmas, and it looked like yours!

  16. I agree with ChgoJohn. You make the ham so you have sandwiches and pea soup after. This ham looks amazingly good.

  17. We adore glazed ham! Yours looks amazing! 🙂

  18. I love pork cooked in this way, actually it was our lunch on new year. Your recipe sounds delicious. 🙂

  19. Colleen says:

    Looks super delicious! I love ham because it (hopefully) tastes great the night you make it, but I always look forward to all the things I can make with the leftovers too!

  20. Kristy says:

    I haven’t had this in SOOOO long. I’m seriously drooling right now. That glaze looks fantastic!

  21. rsmacaalay says:

    Glazed ham will always be a favourite

  22. Pingback: All Our Thanksgiving Day Recipes in One Place | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

  23. Pingback: Sunday Suppers: Easter’s Here | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

  24. Pingback: All Our Thanksgiving Recipes in One Place (Take Two) | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

  25. Pingback: Thanksgiving Menu | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

Leave a Reply

