Fingerling Potatoes with Wilted Kale

That's nice roughage

That’s nice roughage

The kale kick continues…

Fingerling Potatoes with Wilted Kale

  • 1 1/2 pounds fingerling or other small potatoes
  • 5-7 cups kale, torn or chopped into bite sized bits
  • 1/4 cup olive oil
  • 3 garlic cloves, minced
  • 1 tsp mustard seeds
  • 1 tsp caraway seeds
  • 1/2 tsp paprika

Cook potatoes in boiling water until fork tender, about 10-15 minutes depending on the size. Drain. Once cool enough to handle slice in half lengthwise. In a large skillet, heat olive oil over medium heat. Saute garlic until fragrant and tender, about a minute. Add mustard and caraway seeds. Cook for about a minute longer. Stir in paprika then add potatoes, tossing to coat. Add kale and allow to wilt, stirring often. This should take about five minutes. Serve warm.

About Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

This blog attempts to collect some of the things I try to create with food and booze. Sometimes I succeed and sometimes I fail. My hope is to entertain and maybe help people think a little harder about what they decide to eat and drink.
This entry was posted in Dinner, Food, Recipes, Sides, vegetarian and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

29 Responses to Fingerling Potatoes with Wilted Kale

  1. Carolyn Chan says:

    I have a big envy for those of you who have access to kale…great combo !

  2. Hellooooo Thursday night din-din!

  3. TasteFood says:

    This sounds wonderful – love the kale.

  4. A_Boleyn says:

    I served sauteed kale with my New Year’s day roasted duck … If I hadn’t had rice to go with it, these potato-kale combo would have rocked.

  5. This is a lovely dish and the combination sounds yummy. Great photos too.

  6. ChgoJohn says:

    I would not have thought to combine these spuds with kale. Sounds great. though. Thanks for the idea. How about a touch of bacon?

  7. Eva Taylor says:

    Very nice use of kale. I’m not much of a caraway fan but I’m sure this would be lovely even without it.

  8. I’m firmly on the kale everything train and this looks absolutely lovely, bright, and colorful.

  9. Karen says:

    I like the addition of the mustard and caraway seeds…sounds great.

  10. Rachel says:

    Mustard seeds – what a great idea! Sort of an “uptown bubble and squeek”… Hungry *NOW*! Mmmmmm! Happy New Year!

  11. Caroline says:

    Mmmm I’m on a kale kick as well. Sounds awesome with the potatoes!

  12. Gorgeous – I must get some caraway sedes, such a great flavour!

  13. A kale kick is always a good thing. And with fingerlings…how can you go wrong?

  14. anna1287 says:

    I just found kale for 2 big bunches for $0.99 at my local bodega and am so excited to use lots and lots. I’ll probably make this tonight! Thanks for sharing.

  15. Lauren says:

    YUM. This looks amazing. I love everything about this combination!

  16. The kale looks delicious, especially since it’s not completely raw. That does not please me…blech. Raw kale. =(

  17. Hi Greg! This is a great idea, very simple, just the way I like 😉 And, yes John, bacon sounds a clever addition 🙂

  18. Healthy, delicious side. Not to mention gorgeous with the fingerling potatoes and kale! Both of which I have been getting a lot from my local CSA.

  19. spree says:

    What a great dish for a winter’s night! That bitter kick of kale, that creamy bite of potato, what a pair.

  20. This looks terrific – simple and a nice mix of colours and textures.

  21. Kristy says:

    I’m all for you kale kick. This one is my favorite so far though. 🙂

  22. colormusing says:

    Funny, I was just talking to my mom this morning about kale recipes, and this one sounds fantastic! (I’ve just e-mailed the link to Mom.)

  23. So simple but looks delicious!

  24. Pingback: Sunday Suppers: It’s getting hot | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

  25. Pingback: Sunday Suppers: Calling All Hunters | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

  26. Pingback: Sunday Suppers: Better than Fish Sticks | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

Leave a Reply

