Healthy Sweet and Sour Chicken

Well it's not deep fried or anything

Well it’s not deep fried or anything

This is a great way to make this standard Asian fare more healthy and use up some pineapple. Normally the chicken would be deep fried, which does give it more of a crispy bite, but also makes the entire thing somewhat greasy. Like most stir fries, this cooks very fast, so have all the ingredients chopped and ready before starting.

I suppose the chicken could be pan fried in a light batter made of panko bread crumbs, cornstarch  and rice wine vinegar if someone really wanted to.

Sweet and Sour Chicken

  • 4 chicken thighs bones removed and cut into bite sized pieces
  • 1 1/2 cups cubed pineapple
  • 2 red peppers cut into bite sized pieces
  • 1 tbsp ginger minced
  • 3 tbsp honey
  • 2 tbsp rice wine vinegar
  • 1 tbsp soy sauce
  • 1 tbsp srirachi
  • 1/4 cup chicken stock
  • 1 tsp cornstarch mixed with 2 tsp broth

Season chicken with salt and pepper. Mix srirachi, soy sauce, vinegar, honey, ginger and cornstarch mix in a bowl. In a large wok or chef’s pan heat 1 tbsp vegetable oil to smoking and cook chicken until done, about 3 minutes. Add peppers and pineapple and cook on high until pineapple begins to brown. Add stock and reduce by half. Add sweet and sour sauce and cook until sauce begins to thicken, about 2 minutes. Serve over white or brown rice immediately.

About Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

This blog attempts to collect some of the things I try to create with food and booze. Sometimes I succeed and sometimes I fail. My hope is to entertain and maybe help people think a little harder about what they decide to eat and drink.
This entry was posted in Chicken, Dinner, Food, Recipes and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Healthy Sweet and Sour Chicken

  1. Sounds like an easy weekend meal!

  2. Sweet and sour is always a good thing. Nice recipe.

  3. Sweet and sour was one of my very first Kitchen Adventures, back when nearly everything I could make had ‘Helper’ in the name….Love the kicked-up version you made!

  4. sallybr says:

    Never made sweet and sour chicken, agree with you a lighter version of the usual restaurant stuff is more than welcome… 😉

  5. Eva Taylor says:

    A nice way to use up turkey leftovers. Lovely colours.

  6. windykitchen says:

    Yum! And almost all pantry staples, to boot.

  7. nancyc says:

    This sounds really good! I’m not sure what srirachi is…I will have to get some of that so I can try this out!

  8. Kristy says:

    I’ll take it not fried for sure. This one is a favorite with the kids. 🙂

  9. Colleen says:

    I love sweet and sour chicken, but I always feel a bit bogged down after eating a lot of greasy fried foods. This a great way to get around that problem and eat a lot healthier (which I’m always looking to do… unless it’s dessert). This recipe is definitely something I need to try out.

  10. Being someone who is always looking for new chicken recipes, you guys never disappoint
    I love sweet and sour chicken and this is indeed a healthier twist on it that I must try soon

  11. pursuitofhappieness says:

    Do you think I could try this with different meats or even tofu? Happy New Year 🙂

  12. Looks tasty. But my poor congested sinuses are wrecking havoc on any cuisine tasting fun. =(

  13. Love those colors.

  14. I love the combination of seasonings!

  15. petit4chocolatier says:

    I love chicken and cook it a lot. I get tired of the same recipes and this is such a great change of pace for sweet and sour not fried. Looks delicious over the white rice 🙂

  16. I love your healthier take on this popular Chinese dish. I’ve been wanting to eat a lot of pineapple lately but haven’t gotten around to picking one up. This looks really good!

  17. egg me on says:

    Great way to take a typically fatty, greasy meal and make it a little bit healthier. I honor you by throwing away all of my Chinese take-out menus.

Leave a Reply

