Breaded Veal Chops

Baked to perfection

Baked to perfection

This is a quick one pot meal that is fairly healthy. Pork chops can be substituted for veal but they will not taste quite the same.

Breaded Veal Chops and Roast Vegetables

  • 4 veal bone in chops
  • 2 lbs potatoes chopped into bite sized pieces
  • 1 bulb fennel sliced into bite sizes
  • 6 small garlic cloves
  • 1 cup corn meal
  • 2 tbsp fresh sage
  • 1 egg mixed with 1/2 cup buttermilk
  • 3 tbsp butter
  • Salt/pepper

Season meat with salt and pepper. In a bowl pour egg mixture over meat cover and let marinate for at least 2 hours in fridge. When ready to cook, mix cornmeal, sage, salt and pepper together. Remove meat from buttermilk, shake off excess and dredge in corn meal. In a large cast iron, or oven safe frying pan melt butter and brown chops in a single layer. Remove meat to a plate and wipe out any remaining cornmeal coating with a towel. Add a tablespoon butter and toss in potatoes, fennel and garlic. Season with salt and pepper stir to coat and place in an oven at 375 degrees. Roast vegetables until they begin to brown and are almost done, about 30 minutes. Place chops on top and return to oven. Cook until meat is done, another 10 minutes. Remove from oven and serve with a dry white wine and some wilted spinach.

About Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

This blog attempts to collect some of the things I try to create with food and booze. Sometimes I succeed and sometimes I fail. My hope is to entertain and maybe help people think a little harder about what they decide to eat and drink.
This entry was posted in Beef, Dinner, Food, Recipes and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Breaded Veal Chops

  1. Redawna says:

    Sounds fantastic! Love the buttermilk idea and the fennel, garlic potatoes are something I would love. Have to give it a try.

  2. Kristy says:

    Sounds delicious and I like using only one pot. 🙂

  3. Nice. Those look delicious.

  4. cecilia says:

    A really nice collection of tastes, i love the addition of fennel. Wilted spinach is a fave around here too! c

  5. Love one pot meals and this looks perfect. Can´t remember the last time I ate a veal chop – wil have to look out for some!

  6. Cornmeal and buttermilk.. the perfect combination. I have yet to find veal here, I may have to do a bit more digging around!

  7. Any chance this could work with beef? I love the cornmeal sage combo and I have never tried roasting fennel and potatoes together but veal is impossible to get here

  8. ChgoJohn says:

    Your breading mixture sounds great, a nice mix of flavors, and I’m anxious to try your potato-fennel side. I’ve just about given up, though, trying to find — and afford — veal chops. I asked last Summer at one of the markets and was told I had to order them, at $17.00/lb. That’s just too expensive. I’ll do as you suggest and go with the pork chops.

  9. rsmacaalay says:

    Sounds really good!

  10. Your flavor combination sounds terrific. I only know of one market that carries veal chops but oh the price they charge. You are lucky that you can get them on sale but then you say the same thing when I talk about getting lobster at a good price.

  11. egg me on says:

    A quick one-pot meal with veal and potatoes?? Yes please. Those chops look great.

  12. Carole says:

    Hi there, today I’m collecting recipes using veal. Please drop me a line on ca4ole@gmail.com if you are ok with me linking to your post in my blog (Carole’s Chatter). Cheers

Leave a Reply

