Twelve Days of Christmas: Eggnog Pancakes

Just a little syrup please

Just a little syrup please

These pancakes come out so moist and fluffy, but beware they are quite heavy and one should be enough for most people. I am not most people.

Eggnog Pancakes

  • 1 cup flour
  • 1 1/2 tbsp cinnamon sugar
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1/4 tsp baking soda
  • 2 pinches salt
  • 2 pinches cloves
  • 1 egg
  • 2 tbsp oil
  • 1 cup eggnog

Mix dry ingredients and create a well in the center. Crack in egg and oil and beat well. Pour in half the eggnog and mix everything together. Gradually add remaining eggnog until batter is thick but able to pour evenly. Heat a griddle and cook pancakes until golden brown on both sides. Do not press down after flipping the cakes and pour smaller amounts then normal so pancakes do not get too thick. (We used our awesome Star Wars molds, so ours were kind of thick.) Serve with butter and pure maple syrup.

About Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

This blog attempts to collect some of the things I try to create with food and booze. Sometimes I succeed and sometimes I fail. My hope is to entertain and maybe help people think a little harder about what they decide to eat and drink.
This entry was posted in Breakfast, Food, Recipes and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Twelve Days of Christmas: Eggnog Pancakes

  1. I’ve made eggnog french toast, but not pancakes…yet. The eggnog adds such a lovely flavor!

  2. Mad Dog says:

    Very good – can I have a drop of brandy with mine 😉

  3. Holy Cow, you guys! That sounds so amazingly…rich? Christmasy?
    I think we’ll just go with Awesome…
    Merry Christmas, guys – just in case I don’t get another chance to say it!

  4. Eva Taylor says:

    Very festive and sounds so incredibly tasty! Cheers.

  5. ChgoJohn says:

    These sound great, Greg, but I’m with you. There is just something so lonely seeing but one pancake on a plate. They are meant to be stacked.

  6. Kristy says:

    I have no doubt one would not be enough for any of us either. 🙂

  7. sallybr says:

    I heard that eggnog is not to be taken lightly 😉 In pancake form, you are right that one must be enough for “most people’

    but one is too lonely, right?

  8. egg me on says:

    DUDE! These look awesome. I love egg nog. That plate is just for you, right? I agree with your “only a little syrup” thing too.

  9. Those are some festive pancakes!

  10. spicegirlfla says:

    Ooh, I’m so glad I stopped by to see this. My daughter lovess eggnog, I’m not a fan or is her brother but I buy a carton for her and it goes to waste! I think we will all love these pancakes and it will be a good recipe to help use up the eggnog!

  11. nancyc says:

    I need to make these!!!

  12. Lilly Sue says:

    Oh wow, great idea! yum!

  13. kristina says:

    I’ve eaten eggnog French toast but this looks more my speed – rare is the loaf of bread that lasts more than a day in this house!

  14. nrhatch says:

    It’s National Eggnog Month . . . so these are PERFECT. 😀

  15. rsmacaalay says:

    Perfect for breakfast, Anyways have a Merry Christmas to you and your family!

  16. Ooh these sound a bit fabulous!

  17. Pingback: Twelve Days of Christmas: Rosemary and Pomegranate Gin and Tonics | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

  18. Pingback: The Ghosts of Christmas Past | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

Leave a Reply

