Twelve Days of Christmas: Brandied Hot Chocolate

Even though the mugs are lame I wouldn’t say no to one

This is the trifecta: Chocolate, booze and cream.

Brandied Hot Chocolate (adapted from Gourmet)

  • 1 1/2 cups milk (not skim, but 2 percent is fine)
  • 3/4 cup heavy cream
  • 1/2 cup brandy
  • 8.5 ounces dark chocolate, chopped
  • 1 tbsp cocoa powder
  • pinch cayenne pepper
  • pinch cinnamon

Over medium heat melt chocolate with 1/4 cup of the brandy, stirring often. Don’t allow the mix to boil. Whisk in the cream, cocoa powder and spice. Pour in the milk and remaining brandy and bring to heat without allowing to boil. Serve warm.

About Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

This blog attempts to collect some of the things I try to create with food and booze. Sometimes I succeed and sometimes I fail. My hope is to entertain and maybe help people think a little harder about what they decide to eat and drink.
This entry was posted in Dessert, Food, Recipes, Spirits and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Twelve Days of Christmas: Brandied Hot Chocolate

  1. Love liquor in warm drinks!

  2. That sounds so good!

  3. Haley says:

    Love love love this one too!

  4. Rufus, keep the mugs warm -we are coming! Carina

  5. ChgoJohn says:

    With its touch of spice and drop of liquor. Christmas or not, this recipe is going to get a lot of use.

  6. windykitchen says:

    Cayenne pepper! Diabolical.

  7. So craving one of these right now. How cozy! Spice, chocolate and booze that is one perfect hot drink.

  8. egg me on says:

    That IS the trifecta!! Glad you don’t use skim milk. Skim milk is just gross. It’s like gray water. Not cool at all. But hot chocolate with booze, that’s totally cool. Or hot. Or you know what I mean. I could use one of these right now.

  9. Eva Taylor says:

    I thought, cute cups, until I read your caption. But I’m with you, I’d take this warming drink any which way, lame mugs and all.

  10. Mad Dog says:

    Adding pepper is very good – I always add some chilli to mulled wine – it’s very warming and makes it seem strong 😉

  11. I could use a nice cup of your hot chocolate drink right now. Some weird windy storm is blowing through Nashville right now…a cold wind. I had a long photo shoot today at my house and I am ready to kick back with something both comforting and relaxing…need I say more? Love this recipe from Gourmet via you.

  12. Michelle says:

    What’s not to like?!

  13. *drool*
    Sounds like a perfect fireside sipper to me!

  14. petit4chocolatier says:

    Definitely the trifecta, who cares about the cups! I love how it has dark chocolate and cocoa powder with the brandy & cream; yummy!

  15. Trifecta indeed. Never tried brandy in hot chocolate but it totally makes sense. 🙂

  16. Kristy says:

    If I ate/drank chocolate, this would be perfect for caroling tonight. 🙂

  17. Pingback: Winter Drink Roundup | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

  18. Pingback: Twelve Days of Christmas: Rosemary and Pomegranate Gin and Tonics | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

  19. Pingback: Sunday Suppers: Come Inside and Warm Up | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

  20. Pingback: Thanksgiving Drinks to Warm the Soul | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

  21. Pingback: The Ghosts of Christmas Past | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

Leave a Reply

