Cilantro Turkey Burgers

There’s a fine line between toasted and charred

By Katherine

Greg is not a big fan of turkey burgers, so when he came home one night after a long workday and I told him what was for dinner his face fell. This is exactly the reaction I wanted and I didn’t have a smart reply, well not one I can print. The point is not that we occasionally fight like any other married couple over what goes on the dinner table. The point is: I was right. My turkey burgers rocked. That calls for a big old: Nanny nanny boo boo.

Top with Mexican slaw and serve with margaritas or Mexican beer.

Cilantro Turkey Burgers

  • 1 to 1 1/2 pounds lean ground turkey
  • 1/2 cup cilantro, stems and all
  • 1/4 medium onion
  • 2 tbsp salsa
  • salt/pepper
  • olive oil

In a blender or food processor, puree salsa, cilantro and onion. Drizzle in just enough olive oil to get the mixer to blend, if necessary. Mix cilantro mix with ground meat, using a wooden spoon or rubber spatula to incorporate evenly. Season with salt and pepper. Form four patties and grill over medium to high heat until done, about 15 minutes.

About Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

This blog attempts to collect some of the things I try to create with food and booze. Sometimes I succeed and sometimes I fail. My hope is to entertain and maybe help people think a little harder about what they decide to eat and drink.
This entry was posted in Chicken, Dinner, Food, Grilling/Smoking and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

27 Responses to Cilantro Turkey Burgers

  1. sallybr says:

    Face falling…. here it happens when I bring kale or Brussels sprouts, or beets to play… I only pick really AMAZING recipes for those, but hubby and beets just don’t mix well…

    Love the turkey burger, cilantro definitely a great touch!

  2. A_Boleyn says:

    The flavours in your turkey burger rock (except for the cilantro … yuck!) and I could definitely see subbing chicken, which I use in my usual non-beef burgers, in this recipe.

    http://a-boleyn.livejournal.com/96171.html

  3. rutheh says:

    Not big on turkey burgers either(the texture) although yours look inviting but I love the nanny nanny boo boo phrase in your post.

  4. ChgoJohn says:

    Though not necessarily a fan of ground turkey, that salsa could make anything palatable.

  5. I would have thought “not really” but yours sound delicious.

  6. peasepudding says:

    I can see those turkey burgers really rocked, coriander and salsa! You can beat that.

  7. As Samuel L.Jackson so memorably said in “Pulp Fiction” – “That looks a tasty burger”:)

  8. I chuckled when I read this as I sometimes get that face falling expression from Big Man when I tell him what we´re having. Isn´t it great when they´re smiling when they taste it?!

  9. Eva Taylor says:

    There is everything to LOVE about this burger! Coriander and salsa are a match made in heaven.

  10. zestybeandog says:

    Love it! Looks like a fab turkey burger! 🙂 I made some ground turkey taco salad last night for dinner. Usually my ground turkey turns into a burger, next time I’ll try this version!

  11. I can see why some folks don’t like ground turkey, but it’s all in how you prepare it and these burgers look terrific. I’ve had a turkey burger with cilantro in it before and it’s amazing how well those two flavors go together. The face falling look line…classic!

  12. windykitchen says:

    YUM! I love cilantro in anything, these look great!

  13. Now::::this looks messy but yummy. Just my kind of food ;)!

  14. ambrosiana says:

    Never thought of adding cilantro to a burger! Good idea!

  15. Caroline says:

    Gimme gimme gimme! Love the simplicity of this recipe. and it looks delicious…as does that toasted bun!

  16. ‘Fraid I’d have the same reaction as Greg…but I remain teachable!

  17. petit4chocolatier says:

    Yum!!

  18. i’m really liking the idea of cilantro in a turkey burger, looks great!!

  19. The addition of cilantro to your burger mix must make for a very unique flavor. Good idea and oh, so simple and tasty.

  20. egg me on says:

    Haha. I really hope you gave Greg a big Nanny Nanny Boo Boo right in the face, because these look awesome.

  21. That is my kind of turkey burger….I love cilantro!

  22. Kristy says:

    Now this sounds like a turkey burger I would enjoy – and enjoy all the more if it came with a nanny nanny boo boo. 😉

  23. Pingback: Sunday Suppers: Fire Up the Grill | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

  24. Erica says:

    I love turkey burgers. I made these yesterday and used red onion, cilantro, pepper and garlic and added jalapeño. Topped it with guacamole with more jalapeños in it and a grilled pineapple slice. SO GOOD

  25. Pingback: Sunday Suppers: Lighten Up | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

  26. Pingback: Notes in the Middle of the Day | Pure Complex

  27. Oh how I have missed this blog. And I can’t believe Greg doesn’t like Turkey Burgers. I’ve been craving one since last week. I can’t wait to try out this recipe. I also wanted to let you know that I featured you and this recipe in my latest post 🙂

Leave a Reply

