Sunday Suppers: Gourmet Rice and Beans

Who says winter meals have to be drab? We don’t. This week’s Sunday Suppers is colorful, flavorful and satisfying.

Pumpkin Bisque with Shrimp

Crawfish would also work well

Brown Rice Risotto with Black Trumpet Mushrooms

There is a little tree on top of the mountain

Green Beans with Pancetta and Mushrooms

It’s so colorful and vibrant.

Poached Pears in Champagne

It’s fruit it has to be healthy

About Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

This blog attempts to collect some of the things I try to create with food and booze. Sometimes I succeed and sometimes I fail. My hope is to entertain and maybe help people think a little harder about what they decide to eat and drink.
This entry was posted in Dessert, Dinner, Food, Recipes, Rice/Risotto, Sides, Soups and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Sunday Suppers: Gourmet Rice and Beans

  1. They all look delicious, but you know what? I ADORE rice and beans. I reckon I could live on it. And anchovies. I think I’m moving to your house. 🙂

  2. nrhatch says:

    That soup looks FAB.

  3. sallybr says:

    I’d love a bowl of that soup indeed! But we are on similar wavelengths, as my dinner ( at least what I have planned) on Monday will involve shrimp and pumpkin… 🙂

    I hate winter, but I also admit that it’s a great season to cook comfort type food… I just hope Spring comes soon!

  4. Kristy says:

    That soup looks phenomenal! I haven’t made pumpkin soup yet this season either. Mmmm!

  5. Reblogged this on MarionelleBayani★ and commented:
    I want to learn how to do this. 😀

  6. ChgoJohn says:

    I have yet to see anything on this blog that would be even close to being called drab. You two always find a way to enliven a recipe, to give it your own touch.

  7. Yum! Is hard to decide… I think I’ll have one of each 😉

  8. What John said…
    And Giovanna…
    (Obviously, I have no orginal thoughts this morning… 😉 )

  9. Your bisque looks gorgeous. However, fruit/pears no matter what you do with must be good for you right?

  10. Eva Taylor says:

    A nice roundup of dishes Greg, love the pear at the end.

  11. Rachel says:

    Love the pear photo… and the recipe! I gotta quit reading you before lunch… nothing here seems very interesting now! Mmm…

  12. egg me on says:

    Happy Sunday! One bowl of pumpkin bisque please. 😄

  13. cecilia says:

    Love the pear!! c

  14. Pears, no matter how prepared, are always healthy in my book.

  15. TasteFood says:

    That’s my kind of supper!

Leave a Reply

