Mini Baked Potatoes with Anchovy Sour Cream

Dali dollops

OK, who’s still here after we said anchovy? Show of hands? They really are the most delicious unfairly maligned bits of goodness on the planet. Anchovy lovers unite. Anchovies can be added to taste. We used four, but Katherine would have preferred three. Skeptics, start with one.

Mini Baked Potatoes with Anchovy Sour Cream

  • 28 ounces mixed fingerling or other small potatoes (about four cups)
  • 1 tbsp olive oil
  • 3/4 cup sour cream
  • 2 tbsp horseradish
  • 3-4 anchovy fillets
  • juice from half a lemon
  • dash sriracha
  • 1/2 tsp Dijon mustard
  • black pepper to taste
  • salted capers, green onions or chopped parsley for garnish

Wash potatoes and prick each a few times with a fork. In a large bowl, toss potatoes in olive oil to coat. Lay flat on a baking sheet and cook at 400 until fork tender, about 30 minutes. In the meantime, in a small bowl use a fork to mash anchovy fillets to a paste. Mix in remaining ingredients, except garnish, and adjust seasoning as needed. When potatoes are done, top each with a dollop of the sour cream and garnish of your choice.

About Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

This blog attempts to collect some of the things I try to create with food and booze. Sometimes I succeed and sometimes I fail. My hope is to entertain and maybe help people think a little harder about what they decide to eat and drink.
This entry was posted in Dinner, Food, Recipes, Sides, vegetarian and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Mini Baked Potatoes with Anchovy Sour Cream

  1. Anchovies, lemons and capers are my three favourite flavour enhancers. Nice little recipe.

  2. This is the perfect foil for that little maligned creature

  3. Great idea!
    I love anchovies – but not on pizza. Whose idea was that, anyway?

  4. Eva Taylor says:

    I bought some Italian white anchovies and boy are they lovely! I really started to appreciate them while in Europe this past fall.

  5. You had me at anchovy.

  6. TasteFood says:

    Great use of anchovies!

  7. Mad Dog says:

    I love anchovies and use them all the time – great potatoes πŸ™‚

  8. Anchovies and mini baked potatoes! Perfectly perfect together.

  9. cecilia says:

    Simple and good! I am sure the anchovies are a great addition.. morning! c

  10. What cute little potatoes. Well, except for the anchovy part.

  11. nrhatch says:

    Anchovies make a Caesar Salad . . . and all things Worchestershire . . . so why not tiny tatties!

  12. Kristy says:

    Ha! Anchovy lovers unite. Mike would start with four. I would start with one. Worth a shot though – they do look adorable. And my tastes have changed over time. I should give the little buggers a shot again. πŸ™‚

  13. ChgoJohn says:

    Oh, yum! Horseradish and anchovies in the same sauce! I’m glad the recipe only requires 3 – 4 anchovies. That will leave me plenty to snack on while the potatoes roast. πŸ™‚

  14. IΒ΄m here jumping up and down at the back and waving my hands…yes please!

  15. egg me on says:

    At first I was wondering how you found mini baked patotes and was super impressed. Now, after I read the ingredients, I’m still impressed. Not scared of the anchovies one bit.

  16. spree says:

    Never ever would I thought to do this! I’m mighty glad you did though, and grateful you shared it!

Leave a Reply

