Cranberry Gelee

Hands off my cranberries, you have your own

This is a great twist on a classic and a fun way to present cranberry sauce. Our batch filled six cocktail glasses, about a half-cup each, so plan accordingly depending on how many people you’re entertaining.

Cranberry Gelee

  • 9 ounces fresh or frozen cranberries
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 1 cup cranberry juice
  • 1 tbsp lemon juice
  • 1 375-milliter bottle moscato d’Asti
  • 3 1/2 tsp unflavored gelatin
  • 3/4 cup tsp orange-flower water (optional)

Place 1/2 cup of muscato in a small bowl. Sprinkle gelatin over and let stand 5 minutes to soften. Place berries, remaining muscato, sugar, and 1/2 cup of cranberry juice in a saucepan set over medium heat. Bring to a boil and mash berries with a masher allowing to thicken slightly, about five minutes or longer for frozen. The mix won’t be as thick as regular cranberry sauce. Remove from heat; add gelatin mixture, remaining cranberry juice and lemon juice and stir until dissolved. Transfer gelatin mixture to a large pitcher. Divide mixture equally among ramekins, small cocktail glasses or other shallow  cups. About 1/2 cup per glass. (Use the back side of the pitcher so the berries don’t get caught in the pour spout.) Chill until firm, about 3 hours. Can be made two days ahead.

About Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

This blog attempts to collect some of the things I try to create with food and booze. Sometimes I succeed and sometimes I fail. My hope is to entertain and maybe help people think a little harder about what they decide to eat and drink.
This entry was posted in Food, Recipes, Sides and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Cranberry Gelee

  1. A Table in the Sun says:

    Love, love, love, the addition of moscato. Nice presentation too.

  2. I’m the only person in my family who loves cranberry sauce during the holidays. Great looking dessert (even in my sick state)!

  3. Beautiful and bright.
    😉 Mandy

  4. ChgoJohn says:

    This is great! I’m always on the lookout for something new to bring to the T-Day table. This gelée and your presentation would be perfect!

  5. Eva Taylor says:

    Wow! I love the addition of muscato, really takes the crans to the next level. But where’s my cocktail????

  6. I can see you’re working up to Thanksgiving. A new and clever way with cranberries – nice one:)

  7. Very nice idea for next thursday (or any other day for that matter) sounds delicious and looks amazing!! 🙂

  8. That looks great – love the serving idea, too!

  9. egg me on says:

    I’m smiling with gelee right now. Great stuff!

  10. Misky says:

    Lovely. I wish our supermarket would hurry up and stock fresh cranberries! I’m doing a ‘best-I-can-under-the-circumstances-living-in-the-UK’ Thanksgiving next week, and I NEED CRANBERRIES!! Heading off to a small farm shop this afternoon, so fingers crossed for me!

  11. Love the moscato in this! Very festive.

  12. Tandy says:

    I love the colour!

  13. spree says:

    This is a GREAT idea Greg!

  14. TasteFood says:

    This is a fantastic idea – thank you!

  15. This looks perfect for Thanksgiving. I was certain I had the right one but this cranberry gelee looks even better than what I’d planned.

  16. Kristy says:

    Cute! I love the presentation!

  17. Pingback: Orange-Pecan Cranberry Sauce | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

  18. Pingback: All Our Thanksgiving Day Recipes in One Place | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

  19. Pingback: Sunday Suppers: The Other White Meat (Thanksgiving edition) | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

  20. Pingback: All Our Thanksgiving Recipes in One Place (Take Two) | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

  21. Pingback: Thanksgiving Menu | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

Leave a Reply

