Mulled Cider

These cups are not replicas from an Indiana Jones movie

This can be double, tripled or multiplied by a million, but you’d need a really big pot.

Mulled Cider

  • 4 cups apple cider
  • 1/4 cup brown sugar
  • 1 tbsp sorghum or 1/2 tbsp molasses
  • 1 cinnamon stick
  • 3 star anise
  • 4-6 whole cloves
  • 1/8 tsp ground ginger
  • crack white pepper
  • fresh grated nutmeg to taste

Put all ingredients in a big pot. Bring to heat, stirring to incorporate sugar. Serve warm. Slip in some bourbon when you think your mom isn’t watching. If she catches you, she’ll want some too.

About Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

This blog attempts to collect some of the things I try to create with food and booze. Sometimes I succeed and sometimes I fail. My hope is to entertain and maybe help people think a little harder about what they decide to eat and drink.
This entry was posted in Recipes, Spirits and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Mulled Cider

  1. My mom wouldn’t. She prefers tequila. (*rimshot*)

    I was just thinking I should make some mulled cider soon, and this looks like just the ticket!

  2. TasteFood says:

    Now that’s a cider.

  3. A little spot of spiced rum in here might not go bad…

  4. I was reading the ingredient list and wondering if you’d forgotten the bourbon.. πŸ™‚

  5. just as “TasteFood” said above “….now that’s a cider”!! When I lived for 3 glorious years in Trinidad/W.I. we always ever added rum (what else? lol) – delicious (hic, hic) Ciao Carina

  6. ahhh, as ‘TasteFood’ above rightly said “… not that’s a cider!”. When I lived 3 glorious years in Trinidad/W.I. we only ever added rum (what else?) – delicious (hic, hic) ciao Carina

  7. ChgoJohn says:

    I could use a mug of this right now. The house has a chill to it and a warm cider — with a little kick, of course — would be perfect.

  8. Carolyn Chan says:

    I was looking at your photo and just thinking “that looks like the cup Indie chose “wisely” in the Last Crusade” and then read the caption under the photo – made me laugh out loud !

    Looks like the US winter’s going to be long and cold – lots of mulled drinks would be perfect !

  9. Jessica says:

    I was wanting a hot toddy, but now I want this!

  10. Eva Taylor says:

    I have those goblets!
    One question: where’s the booze?
    OK, two:
    How much to ‘slip’ in????

  11. Thanks for this recipe. I have been stumped on what to take to a pot luck dinner tonight and you have solved the problem for me…Your mulled cider with a bit of Kentucky Bourbon will be just the thing. Thanks mucho.

  12. sallybr says:

    I’ve never had mulled cider – I love cider, though, so this must be right up my alley…

  13. Put it in the crock pot on warm, for Thanksgiving. Tell everyone to get it themselves…
    (Works with Hot Chocolate on Christmas, too….)

  14. Mad Dog says:

    I always add a little crushed chilli to mulled wine or cider – it gives it a bit of a kick and is quite warming.

  15. Such a pretty presentation with those thrown pottery cups!

  16. Pingback: Apple Crush | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

  17. Pingback: All Our Thanksgiving Day Recipes in One Place | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

  18. Pingback: Our Favorite Apple Drinks (So Far) | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

  19. Pingback: Thanksgiving Drinks to Warm the Soul | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

  20. Pingback: All Our Thanksgiving Recipes in One Place (Take Two) | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

  21. Pingback: Favorite Fall Sips | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

  22. Pingback: Thanksgiving Menu | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

Leave a Reply

