Cornbread Stuffing Challenge

This is the loser

My parents always make stuffing and dressing with cornbread and biscuits. I’ve always been adamant that we have cornbread stuffing, not the white bread stuff on Thanksgiving. Down here a lot of people use cornbread only so we adapted our recipe to use only cornbread to see if maybe they knew something we didn’t.

I thought it was pretty tasty, but it just didn’t have the same texture. Greg didn’t like the chicken in the dressing, but thought sausage would have worked. Bottom line, this is good. But mine is better.

Cornbread Dressing

  • 2 batchs simple cornbread
  • 1 large onion, diced
  • 1 cup shredded, cooked chicken
  • 4 tbsp fresh chopped sage
  • 1 celery rib, chopped fine
  • 3 garlic cloves, diced
  • 2 cup chicken broth
  • 1 egg
  • salt and pepper to taste

Cook cornbread one to two days before you plan to make the stuffing. Allow to cool, then crumble the breads in a large bowl to dry out. Some large chunks are fine. (We normally put the bowl in the oven, and make sure to pull it out if we need to cook something.) Mix the bread, sage, onion, celery, garlic and broth together. Season with salt and pepper. The mix will be wet, but should still be a bit crumbly too. Stuff the neck and body cavities with as much of the stuffing as you can. Cook the bird as you normally would. For the dressing, add the rest of the broth, the shredded chicken and the egg to the remaining bread mix. Stir to incorporate. Season with salt and pepper to taste. The size of the pan you need will depend on how big the bird was. You’ll want the dressing to be about an inch to an inch and a half tall in the pan, so a 2 1/2 to 3-quart casserole dish would work well for a larger bird. Make sure to grease the pan and smooth the dressing into the pan. Cook for about 45 minutes at 350. The edges should be crisp and the top golden.

About Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

This blog attempts to collect some of the things I try to create with food and booze. Sometimes I succeed and sometimes I fail. My hope is to entertain and maybe help people think a little harder about what they decide to eat and drink.
This entry was posted in Chicken, Dinner, Food, Recipes, Sides and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Cornbread Stuffing Challenge

  1. Kristy says:

    I don’t know that I’ve ever had cornbread stuffing. Sounds like something I would like though – especially with biscuits too.

  2. I happen to love white bread stuffing, but this has me all curious. (I think I’d like your original version, with biscuits.) Tell you what, I think I’m going to throw caution to the wind and try it this year!

  3. A_Boleyn says:

    With all the cooking one normally does for Thanksgiving (everyone’s special side dish as well as wanting to add something new to the menu) I don’t think I’d add on more work by making both cornbread AND buttermilk biscuits ahead of time but I’d certainly like to give yours a try. 🙂 The addition of sausage is certainly intriguing. The version I make is the one that my my mom used to with white bread, rice and turkey giblets.

    In the last few years, due to health issues, I take a shortcut by using a package of Zatarain’s Gumbo mix with rice and 2 boxes of StoveTop stuffing, and using the liquid formed from making a quick turkey broth with the giblets and the turkey neck. Then I chop up the giblets and add them as well as the meat from the neck to the stuffing.

  4. Michelle says:

    “My parents always make stuffing and dressing with cornbread and biscuits.” Mine too. I think we talked about this last year, didn’t we? It’s a KY/TN sort of thing. I wish I could make my husband understand it! My grandmother would make one large batch plain, and another with oysters.

  5. ChgoJohn says:

    I’ve tried, gladly, to make a cornbread stuffing and quit trying. Maybe I should try again but with your recipe, Katherine. A good cornbread stuffing is really fantastic. Mine was nowhere near good. 😦

  6. I think that stuffing or dressing (depending if it is inside or out of the bird) is not only a regional dish but a family dish as well. It appears we make what we grew up eating. My is made with cornbread and bread but no meat or seafood in it.

  7. Eva Taylor says:

    I like a good cornbread stuffing and I have to admit, I would prefer your version too, but my favourite is with sausage in it. YUM.

  8. Hi Katherine! I believe you, but now I have to try both recipes 😉

  9. Cornbread stuffing is the only way to go. I love the idea of using biscuits, too!

  10. sallybr says:

    I would love to use your stuffing – now that does sound a bit strange – however, my beloved husband has his family recipe that he is absolutely completely totally adamant about.. 🙂
    You see how that goes… who am I to mess with tradition, right? Anything for the sake of marital bliss!

  11. Ah well, you don’t know until you try. That sounds delicious, but I’m glad yours is better. 🙂

  12. Hang on – so you stuff the turkey with chicken? Have I got that right? Looks good though!

  13. Mad Dog says:

    That sounds great – I might be tempted to swap the shredded chicken for pork 🙂

  14. egg me on says:

    Wow, that’s some loser. I’ll admit it: your other one looks quite tasty. Less hunk of cornbread and more dish of stuffing. But ….. I’d still try this one. I’m very curious to how the shredded chicken tastes in there.

  15. Maureen says:

    I really like cornbread stuffing but I also like my grandmother’s pork stuffing she grew up eating in Eastern Quebec, so I make both kinds every year. I think I like the other one better too.

  16. Pingback: All Our Thanksgiving Day Recipes in One Place | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

  17. Pingback: Chestnut Stuffing | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

  18. Pingback: All Our Thanksgiving Recipes in One Place (Take Two) | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

  19. Pingback: Thanksgiving Menu | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

Leave a Reply

