Sunday Suppers: Soup and…

Soup and sandwich or soup and salad? We say why choose?

How about a little pastrami with split pea soup?

Never buying store brand again

This is nothing like the soup that haunts a bad diner’s menu

Or some cream of potato with roasted garlic and a nice Caesar?

Campbell’s eat your heart out

Hey, who ate the croutons?

Or some ham bone soup with a double side of pork?

Beans are the magical fruit

So good

 

About Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

This blog attempts to collect some of the things I try to create with food and booze. Sometimes I succeed and sometimes I fail. My hope is to entertain and maybe help people think a little harder about what they decide to eat and drink.
This entry was posted in Dinner, Food, Soups and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Sunday Suppers: Soup and…

  1. bulldogsturf says:

    Those all look so good…. now what about a good corn soup with kernels of corn..??? and slices of pastrami…

  2. A_Boleyn says:

    Everything’s better with soup. 🙂

  3. I think that Jack Nicholson said the “Cocaine, cocaine the magical fruit, the more you have the more you toot”. I guess you could try it with beans, but it would be another part of your body that did the tooting:)

  4. Eva Taylor says:

    Great roundup yet again. Love all the soups.

  5. It’s truly soup-weather here this week! And great for baking, too…
    Excellent round-up!

  6. ChgoJohn says:

    I bake a ham twice a year and use the bone for split pea soup. Now I’ll have to bake a 3rd ham because that ham bone soup of yours is too good to pass up. I’m OK with it but please don’t mention any of this to the Shush Sisters.

  7. Love the combo. And look at that pastrami:)

  8. That sandwich photo looks awesome.

  9. ericascime says:

    Oh man, that sandwich!

  10. Cream of potato sounds amazing! I wish it would cool down enough here to make soups

  11. cecilia says:

    John has a hambone soup on the fire at the moment.. he is the soup king actually, I just supply the stock.. c

  12. Today it is really cool here in Nashville…so your soup looks so warm and cozy. It is that time of year isn’t it..for some of our favorites. Beautiful pastrami!

  13. sallybr says:

    My husband is the ham bone keeper and soup maker of the household – I always thought split pea soup was too heavy, but five years into our marriage he converted me to it. He can seel a freezer to an Eskimo, believe me… but I am glad he got me to like this type of soup. No complains..

    great round up, Mr. G. Rufus

  14. Kristy says:

    That sandwich at the end looks delicious. This post reminded me of my grandpa. He would have loved every single thing on the menu. 🙂

  15. TasteFood says:

    They all look so good. The pastrami looks great.

  16. Carolyn Chan says:

    I love soups ! Like a big warm fluffy blanket, they are so comforting. And that pastrami and split pea soup looks amazing.

  17. Bravo Greg! That pastrami is beautiful!

  18. egg me on says:

    That pastrami is going to have my mouth watering all day long. Throw a few slices on a some rye bread with mustard —- wowwwwwww. Great stuff!

  19. Dave says:

    Now you’ve got me hungry for some ham & bean soup. Great looking pastrami!

  20. yiyime says:

    Reblogged this on vienaqui and commented:
    Amazing food presentation… I am impressed

Leave a Reply

