Crustless Broccoli Quiche

By Katherine

Cheese is your best friend

I don’t always grocery shop with a specific dish in mind, but the other Saturday I knew I wanted broccoli quiche and without Greg home knew it would need to be crustless. (His pie crusts are better.)

This was super creamy and reminded me how great broccoli is, especially when surrounded by cheese. If cauliflower is more your thing, check out Saffron and Honey’s cauliflower quiche with herbs and goat cheese.

Crustless Broccoli Quiche

  • 3 cups broccoli florets, cut into bite-sized chunks
  • 1 cup diced onion
  • salt/pepper
  • olive oil
  • pinch red pepper flakes
  • 3/4 cup Parmesan or Romano
  • 3/4 cup cheddar cheese
  • 4 eggs
  • 1 cup buttermilk or heavy cream

Drizzle some olive oil in a large frying pan set over medium heat. Throw in the onions and saute until tender and beginning to brown. Toss in broccoli florets and small amount of water, less than a quarter cup. Season with red pepper flakes, salt and pepper. Cook for about five minutes. The broccoli should still have some bite and the water should be evaporate. Remove from heat. Grease a pie pan and set aside. In a large bowl, combine eggs and buttermilk or cream. Whisk to combine. Drizzle a little bit in the bottom of the pie pan. Add the cheeses to the broccoli mixture and stir to combine. Add some cracked black pepper and more salt, if desired. Remember the cheese has salt. Add the broccoli filling to the pie pan then pour over remaining egg mix. Smooth the top and press eggs into any crevices. Cook at 350 until custard is set and top is golden, about 30 minutes.

About Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

This blog attempts to collect some of the things I try to create with food and booze. Sometimes I succeed and sometimes I fail. My hope is to entertain and maybe help people think a little harder about what they decide to eat and drink.
This entry was posted in Dinner, Food, Recipes, vegetarian and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Crustless Broccoli Quiche

  1. A_Boleyn says:

    Haven’t had a quiche in ages and this one looks like a tasty winner. 🙂

  2. TasteFood says:

    I would happily take my quiche crustless.

  3. Carolyn Chan says:

    That looks so warm and comforting and is a GREAT way to eat broccoli ie surrounded with cream and cheese 🙂

  4. nice recipe – to keep in mind for next week, maybe! Thank you.

  5. ChgoJohn says:

    I’ve never tried to bake a crustless quiche but yours, Katherine, sure does look good!

  6. I often prefer a quiche minus the crust and this sounds fantastic.
    🙂 Mandy

  7. niasunset says:

    WOW! This is great for me, I eat always broccoli and it would be so nice to try a new recipe. Thank you dear Rufus, have a nice weekend, love, nia

  8. sallybr says:

    FIrst time I see it made with buttermilk, I really really like that!
    you get the crust out, the extra fat of the heavy cream out, and leave a ton of goodness still in place….. gotta keep this one in mind

  9. Charity says:

    That looks amazing! I just printed it to make this weekend!

  10. Laura says:

    Looks yummy. I wonder if a crustless quiche is just a frittata? Or is there something different about a frittata?

  11. I love broccoli in any form or fashion, and add cheese to it and I’m totally there! Love this crustless quiche and I will definitely give this a try!

  12. Eva Taylor says:

    I love brocoli too but seldom eat it…this looks like a great dish for lunch. That’s a lot of cheese.

  13. Mad Dog says:

    I was going to say the same as Laura – surely this is a frittata and not a quiche…
    Quiche by definition = a savory, open-faced pastry crust dish with a filling of savory custard with cheese, meat or vegetables.

  14. This is the second crustless quiche I’ve seen this evening. Yours looks delicious, especially because of the broccoli.

  15. egg me on says:

    What a great quiche! Broccoli is amazing when it’s surrounded by cheese. So is ham — which I bet would be nice in here too.

  16. Looks great, you guys! and thanks for the shoutout 🙂

  17. Kristy says:

    Broccoli slathered in cheese is about the only way I’ll eat. This looks good and cheesy too. 🙂

Leave a Reply

