Baked Risotto Balls

Herb butter would also make a good filling

Two things kept us from making risotto balls in the past: Most recipes call for frying the balls, our least favorite way of cooking, and most call for leftover risotto. Since we eat risotto as a main course, we tend to not have too much left over. But when we make a bigger batch than normal and had leftovers, we figured we’d take a gamble on baking the risotto balls. It worked wonderfully. You can serve these with marinara, aioli or eat them plain. While we used mushroom risotto, a cheesy mix would work well too.

Baked Risotto Balls

  • 2 cups mushroom risotto
  • 2 eggs
  • 2-4 ounces Mozzarella, Fontina or other melting cheese for the center
  • 1 tbsp chopped fresh sage
  • 1/4 cup grated Romano
  • about 1/2 cup breadcrumbs

Preheat oven to 350 and grease a baking sheet. Cut cheese into small  squares, about a quarter to a half inch each. Place roughly a quarter cup of breadcrumbs on one plate. In a large bowl, mix the eggs, Romano, risotto and sage. Add a few tablespoons of the breadcrumbs, just enough to be able to form balls. Form six to eight balls, depending on the size you like. Push a square of the cheese into each one and reform the ball. Dip each ball in the breadcrumbs to coat. Place on prepared baking sheet. Bake until golden, turning once. This should take about 40 minutes. Serve warm.

About Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

This blog attempts to collect some of the things I try to create with food and booze. Sometimes I succeed and sometimes I fail. My hope is to entertain and maybe help people think a little harder about what they decide to eat and drink.
This entry was posted in Appetizers, Dinner, Food, Italian, Recipes, Rice/Risotto and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

39 Responses to Baked Risotto Balls

  1. I love risotto balls Though I normally have a similar problem with not having any leftovers. Great idea to bake them! Frying is totally unnecessary (and messy).

  2. rutheh says:

    Wow. Almost a thousand “likes” on FB?!!! Hope nine people who read this post click “like”.
    This recipe looks very creative AND delicious

  3. A_Boleyn says:

    I think this is a baked version of arancini which I’ve always wanted to try making but, like you, don’t like to fry. I hadn’t realized it was possible to bake them so many thanks for the recipe. Now I just to make some risotto, and some ragu to put inside. :)

  4. Same thing – we never have left over risotto. But, if we did….:)

  5. Obviously I make too much because we always have leftovers and I’ve stuffed the balls with cheese and fried them. I’m on to baking, thank you very much!

  6. People have leftover risotto?
    Who knew?
    Sounds yummy.

  7. sallybr says:

    This goes to my pinterest board right away, genius! I LOVE risotto balls, but indeed they are a pain to make (I dislike frying too) and sometimes disintegrate in the oil, or get too greasy

    I am making it next time I have leftovers, although like you, we tend to polish it off in one sitting!

    Great recipe, Greg!

  8. Wow. I would’ve never have thought to bake or fry risotto balls because I prefer it as the creamy main course. Thanks for the new idea!

  9. Eva Taylor says:

    I’ve had the same reservations, but these look amazing. I think I’ll file this one for a cooler day (going up to 34°C today).

    • A_Boleyn says:

      I agree with the saving the baking etc for a cooler day, Eva. It’s only 12:13 pm ET and it’s already 90 deg F. A perfect day to make … sorbet! :)

      Though it kind of melted while taking pictures.

      • Eva Taylor says:

        Ice cream and sorbet photography are the MOST difficult in the food photography business. There are food stylists who specialize in it and that’s mostly all they do, so don’t feel bad.

    • We’re hooked on the AC, making a lot of cooler dishes but using the grill and oven too. In this weather, using the oven is easier than the grill!

  10. Natalie says:

    *Must remember to make more risotto that I can eat* hmmmm could be difficult! My dad asked me what to do with leftover rice yesterday, I wond if it’ too late!!

  11. These look delicious! And I love that you baked instead of fried.

  12. Risotto arancini!!! Love!!

  13. billpeeler says:

    This sounds wonderful – what a great way to repurpose an already-great dish into something different. Very cool!

  14. Caroline says:

    What a clever idea…never heard of/made risotto balls. Sounds great!

  15. Mad Dog says:

    It sounds well worthwhile making a giant risotto just to make these. I could eat them baked or fried, they sound amazing!

  16. Amy says:

    These look amazing! I’ve always wanted to make risotto balls but refuse to fry things. So smart, guys!!! Can’t wait to try :)

  17. Baking is preferred and much less messy and healthier.

  18. Kristy says:

    Darn it…I finished off our risotto tonight. No leftovers. :( These look fantastic and a great alternative to frying.

  19. Wow, excellent idea!!

  20. Pingback: Sunday Sparkle: 8th July 2012 + Giveaway Winner « Beast & Beauty

  21. rsmacaalay says:

    I just had some fried risotto balls last night, this looks so appetizing

  22. Lovely – was the cheese all melty in the middle?

  23. I love baked risotto balls, even though I rarely have leftovers when I make risotto too. These look so good!

  24. Courtney says:

    Why did I have the urge to giggle when I read your recipe? It must be because I’m around boys all the time. :) These look quite tasty – and I love the idea of baking the risotto.

  25. egg me on says:

    Ooo … great idea. I also rarely have leftover risotto, but it’d be worth it to limit my amount for dinner and make these. I could totally see dipping these in marinara sauce.

  26. Carolyn Chan says:

    I love that they’re baked!

  27. Pingback: Creamy Stovetop “Risotto” | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

Leave a Reply

