Fresh Peach Tart

I must say that pie always takes a good photo

This dessert is a bit like a buttery tart meeting a fruity cobbler and having a really tasty offspring. We stirred in a few fresh peach slices at the end, don’t do that. It just makes the whole thing lumpy and not very photogenic.

Fresh Peach Tart

For Crust

  • 1 cup all-purpose flour
  • 3 tbsp powdered sugar
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 8 tbsp chilled butter
  • ice water

Preheat oven to 350 and grease a tart pan. In a large bowl, mix sugar, flour and salt. Cut in butter, until mix resembles coarse crumbs. Use just enough water, about a 1/4 cup, to bind dough. Press into tart pan . Pierce dough with a fork. Bake until golden, about 25 minutes.

For filling

  • 5 cups peaches, sliced
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 3 tbsp cornstarch
  • 1 tbsp butter
  • pinch salt
  • 2 tbsp cold water
  • juice from half a lemon
  • zest from lemon

Whisk sugar, cornstarch and salt in a two- or three-quart saucepan over medium heat. Add water, zest and juice and butter. Whisk until smooth. Stir in peaches and allow mix to bubble. Use a potato masher to mash fruit. Allow mix to simmer, stirring often. Cook until thick and the mix is reduced by about a third. This will take about 20-30 minutes. Remove from heat. Transfer to prepared crust. Refrigerate for an hour or until ready to serve.

About Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

This blog attempts to collect some of the things I try to create with food and booze. Sometimes I succeed and sometimes I fail. My hope is to entertain and maybe help people think a little harder about what they decide to eat and drink.
This entry was posted in Dessert, Food, Recipes and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

37 Responses to Fresh Peach Tart

  1. Hmmm… I was lovin’ the lumpy bits.. and imagining what those soft chunks of peach would taste like:)

  2. peasohpeas says:

    This looks lovely :)

  3. Very delicious looking tart – I love peaches, and that is most certainly a peach:)

  4. I need a slice of that right now!

  5. Jenny says:

    This looks amazing! I luurve peaches so I’m totally going to give this recipe a try :)

  6. mydearbakes says:

    Loved your creation , so lovely! =)

  7. Oh, fresh peaches! Mmmmmmm…..
    The tart looks just beautiful – lumpy bits and all. I tell myself the same thing when I look in the mirror in the morning :D

  8. dlvanveelen says:

    Oh that looks so good! I wish I could smell it! Very few ingredients as well….I may have to give this a try!

  9. That looks absolutely amazing and so summery, guys!

  10. billpeeler says:

    This looks great – peaches always help to define summer. I need to get a tart pan…..

  11. ChgoJohn says:

    You’re right about the picture, that’s a great looking tart – lumps and all.

  12. You’re right, it does take a good photo! I can’t wait for the peaches to ripen in our neck of the woods! Won’t be until around early or mid August. The tart looks delicious!

  13. this looks incredible! and simple too! I agree w/ everyone, this is a great looking tart!

  14. Mad Dog says:

    That looks like a good crust and of course, lovely tart ;-)

  15. Eva Taylor says:

    Photogenic Pie, I bet that really ticks cake off. Seriously, this is a delicious looking dessert, and I’m with Smidge, I like the lumpy bits too.

  16. Courtney says:

    Oh, yeah. This is right up my alley.

  17. Very nice color and crown of the tart.

  18. Like those before me, I wouldn’t have thought a thing about the lumpy bits, this tart looks so good. I wonder, could you place slices on top rather than stir in before fridge, or would they sink?

  19. Caroline says:

    Nommm perfect summer dessert. :)

  20. kristina says:

    Sounds like a great pie! Fresh peaches laid over top might solve the lumpy problem…though I doubt anyone cared what it looked like after eating it ;)

  21. ceciliag says:

    Ok I won;t do that lumpy thing , but I will eat it! excellent..c

  22. We still have months before fresh peach season. By the way I like the rustic look of the pie…

  23. kat says:

    such a lovely tart! too perfect :)

  24. It’s photogenic! It just blinked because of the flash.

  25. If I bring the vanilla icecream can I have a slice? it looks heavenly

  26. Peaches, peaches, peaches… now all I can think about is peaches.

  27. Pingback: Sunday Sparkle 1st July & +Kiehl’s Crème de Corps Giveaway! « Beast & Beauty

  28. Kristy says:

    Hell yes! I was seriously trying to talk Mr. N into a peach pie this weekend. I think I’ll just forget all pretenses and make this for me.

  29. ambrosiana says:

    Aren’t peaches the best summer fruit?? That pie looks delicious!

  30. I love all of your peach recipes. The peaches this year seem to be extra awesome, would you agree?

  31. Carolyn Chan says:

    I think it looks lovely !

  32. nancyc says:

    Great photo–I bet it tastes as great as it looks!

  33. Pingback: plush peach pie « fati's recipes

  34. I’m making this tomorrow for a little welcome back party we’re having for a friend.
    Really excited, but wondering if by powdered sugar you mean icing sugar, or caster sugar, or if either can be used :)

  35. Pingback: pretty peach tart « fati's recipes

Leave a Reply

