More Chicken Livers

I do declare, chicken liver is really good

For a long time I associated the flavor of chicken liver with any other liver. Boy was I wrong. For those folks who like beef liver, more power to you.

I hate it.

Hence my aversion to any liver at all. That is until I had foie gras.

So I tried chicken livers and  the creamy taste has won me over. This dish is very simple and quick. Whole wheat pasta could be substituted for a heartier flavor as well.

Chicken Liver Pasta

  • 8 ounces (1/2 lb) chicken livers
  • 1 small red onion minced
  • 2 tbsp butter
  • 4 slices pancetta
  • 1/4 cup beef stock
  • 1 tbsp chopped fresh rosemary
  • 1/4 cup grated romano
  • Salt/pepper
  • 1 lb linguine

Chop livers into small bits. Cook pasta in boiling water until al dente. Drain and season with black pepper. Heat butter in a large saute pan and brown pancetta. Remove from pan and add onion. Cook over low heat  slowly until it begins to almost caramelize, about 15 minutes. Add liver and rosemary and brown the meat. Add stock and cook until evaporated. Toss sauce over pasta and add cheese. Season with salt and pepper and serve with crumbled pancetta on top.

About Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

This blog attempts to collect some of the things I try to create with food and booze. Sometimes I succeed and sometimes I fail. My hope is to entertain and maybe help people think a little harder about what they decide to eat and drink.
This entry was posted in Dinner, Food, Italian, Recipes and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to More Chicken Livers

  1. A_Boleyn says:

    Speaking of chicken livers … I love them with mashed potatoes on the side and usually have the full 1/2 pound as one serving but I’ve never tried them with pasta. :) A very intriguing notion. Tomorrow I’m making giblet stuffing to go with my turkey. I only got a bit of turkey liver (and a heart) in the giblet bag so I bought 1/4 pound each chicken liver and gizzards at the market yesterday to make the dish.

  2. Now that you’re doing chicken livers and foie gras, you are probably ready for some firm, pink ,veal liver, not beef :) Nice recipe.

  3. I have never found a love for beef liver either. I swear when I take it out of the packaging and put it on a plate it moves. On its own. That creeps me out and it’s well before I get to the taste bit.

    Your pasta dish looks delicious.

  4. I love chicken livers. :-) Mandy

  5. I love them, but chicken livers wouldn’t get through our domestic customs post. Jenny hates offal:)

  6. rsmacaalay says:

    Chicken liver goes well with bacon or pancetta, I like this pasta recipe.

  7. Tickateeboo says:

    Hi Rufus,

    I have featured you as part of the Illuminating Blog Awards over at Food Stories.

    http://foodstoriesblog.com/illuminating-blogger-award/

    Tickateeboo xx

  8. I love chicken liver – that and calves liver both have such a delicate flavour!

  9. Dr Dan says:

    I have put this in my things to try. Looks good.

  10. I love chicken livers and never really throughout of putting it in pasta – lovely!

  11. Courtney says:

    If only I could convince the rest of the family to try this…

  12. billpeeler says:

    Isn’t it funny how chicken liver (of all things) can be so divisive? People either love it or hate it. I’m one of the haters, much to my own chagrin. I just can’t do chicken livers. And I’ve tried. Oh, how I’ve tried. But this looks great, and I’m sure it’s a great recipe. *single rolling tear . . .

  13. Mad Dog says:

    … and of course, chicken liver makes great pâté!

  14. sybaritica says:

    That looks pretty good… hardly ever see chicken liver in our stores though :(

  15. ChgoJohn says:

    Chicken livers with rosemary sound like the perfect condiment for pasta. I’ll be trying this pasta, for sure!

  16. I love chicken liver pate.. so I’m sure I’d enjoy this dish!

  17. Carolyn Chan says:

    What you grew up with has so much influence on what you like/dislike. My mum and dad used to feed me pork liver when I was young to fatten me up (things have changed since then haha) and I just love any liver…. :) Great recipe.

  18. They are the best when charcoal grilled Japanese style in skewers with salt (or in yakitori sauce) but of course I’m biased. :D

  19. Ya foie gras has a way of changing people minds about liver. It did the same thing to me. Simple and delish sounding recipe.

  20. egg me on says:

    Liver me timbers! I just had some chicken liver pate at a restaurant last week. I nearly ate the whole ramekin myself. This looks great.

  21. Um, I’ll trust you on the chicken livers.

  22. 5dvnosaheartvo1985 says:

    Reblogged this on Kristy Husk Pages.

Leave a Reply

