Strawberrry Balsamic Granita

Like something from a dinner on True Blood

While basil is a more classic pairing, the mint in our yard has already reached gargantuan proportions. It worked wonderfully with the balsamic and local strawberries.

Strawberry Balsamic Granita

  • 1 cup hot water
  • 2/3- 3/4 cup sugar
  • 2 tbsp balsamic vinegar
  • 2 tbsp mint or basil leaves (whole or torn roughly)
  • 3 cups strawberries

Stir sugar and water, until sugar is dissolved. Puree berries and simple syrup with herbs and balsamic. Pour into an 8-inch pan and cover with foil and place in freezer. When icy around edges, stir and place back in the freezer. Repeat a few times. To serve, scrape top and scoop icy shavings into dessert bowls.

About Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

This blog attempts to collect some of the things I try to create with food and booze. Sometimes I succeed and sometimes I fail. My hope is to entertain and maybe help people think a little harder about what they decide to eat and drink.
This entry was posted in Dessert, Food, Recipes and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

38 Responses to Strawberrry Balsamic Granita

  1. LOVE how this sounds, and I just happen to have some strawberries in the fridge, some nice balsamic vinegars and both mint and basil. Thanks for the inspiration!

  2. Carolyn Chan says:

    Living in 33 degree heat with 95% humidity, this granita looks wonderfully refreshing !

  3. Gorgeous and easy. What a nice treat.

  4. Tandy says:

    I love balsamic and strawberries together :)

  5. Courtney says:

    That sounds like such a refeshing drink! I just wish our local produce was ready.

  6. I love the combination, and there is that little something that macerating strawberries in balsamic makes happen that is just delicious.

  7. I’m a real fan of granitas, and if summer ever arrives I’m certainly going to make this one:)

  8. Mad Dog says:

    Excellent combination!

  9. Fabulous – need to track down some strawberries, haven´t seen so many lately round here.

  10. Eva Taylor says:

    The colour is incredible, a real wow factor for any dinner or dinner party! The strawberry and basil would make a great Intermisso!

  11. SimpleP says:

    Have yet to experience the balsamic-strawberry combo, but I’m game. I do love granita for summer desserts, especially over some good vanilla ice cream.

  12. Come on, strawberries! And sunshine!
    I like mint better in this case…

  13. This sounds like heaven on a scorching hot day. It’s gorgeous too!

  14. Very nice! Love that bowl too.

  15. Kristy says:

    Well you know who I’ll be making this one for… :)

  16. If I lived closer.. I’d be sneaking a little bit of that mint! What a wonderful dessert!

  17. spree says:

    Our strawberries are flowering and our mint is a-leafin’ – and I’ll be saving this lovely one for a day in June! Looks awesome! Thanks !

  18. Caroline says:

    Ah yes, it is very True Blood-esque. Sounds yuuuummy!

  19. Sophie33 says:

    A really refreshing & tasty alternative granita: perfect for a dinner party!

  20. TasteFood says:

    What a brilliant idea for a granita!

  21. zestybeandog says:

    Perfect for summer time! :)

  22. Young Wifey says:

    Looks delicious!

  23. Karen says:

    A refreshing treat for summer.

  24. How lovely! I’m missing all my summer fruits reading this (as Australia prepares for winter). I heart strawberries.

  25. Yum! And yours looks way less faux-pretentious than Giada’s version.

  26. Hello Greg! It is steamy hot today in HK and I would love one of these. Please accept my apologies as something strange is going on with my wordpress account as many of my responses I sent are not there. Is anyone else having similar wordpress issues?

  27. Karen says:

    Perfect for this summer.

  28. Jessica says:

    That is an intense shade of red! Beautiful.

  29. Pingback: Sunday Suppers: Spring has Sprung | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

  30. Pingback: Ushering in Strawberry Season | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

  31. Pingback: Sunday Suppers: Shaking Off Winter | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

Leave a Reply

