Brown Rice with Porcini Mushrooms

The presentation is a little on the fancy side

I have found that brown rice is a better choice than its white counterpart for every dish. Well except for sushi and other Asian cuisine, red beans and rice, black beans and rice, gumbo, soup and jambalaya… It is a lot healthier, although that never really is a deciding factor in my kitchen, and has a far better flavor. It is harder to make and takes more time to cook, which may be why I like it as well.

I like to use a mixture of two parts brown jasmine, one part brown short grain, a half part brown sweet, and a quarter part black wild rice. The easiest way to make this mix or one you prefer is to find a fancy health food store with its grains and beans in bins. If using only one kind of rice, I recommend brown jasmine or a long grain. Unlike white rice, it helps to uncover and stir brown rice during the longer cooking process.

Brown Rice

  • 1 cup dried porcini mushrooms
  • 4 cloves garlic minced
  • 2 cups brown rice mixture
  • 2 cups chicken stock
  • Salt/pepper

Place dried mushrooms in a two-cup mixing cup and fill with boiling water. Let stand for 15 minutes then remove mushrooms and squeeze out all liquid into mixing cup. Fill it up to the two-cup mark with extra water if needed. Chop the mushrooms into fine dice. In a large saute pot melt one tabelspoon butter with a tablespoon olive oil. Saute garlic over medium heat until fragrant, about a minute. Add mushrooms and cook until they begin to brown. Add rice and stir well to coat in the oil. Season with salt and pepper and cook stirring constantly until rice begins to crisp, about three minutes. Add broth and reserved mushroom liquid and bring to a boil. Turn heat down to a very low simmer and cover. Cook for about an hour stirring every 15 minutes until done. Remove from heat and uncover top and place a kitchen towel over rice to help absorb some steam and make the rice fluffier. Replace cover and let stand 15 more minutes. Fluff with a fork and serve.

About Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

This blog attempts to collect some of the things I try to create with food and booze. Sometimes I succeed and sometimes I fail. My hope is to entertain and maybe help people think a little harder about what they decide to eat and drink.
This entry was posted in Food, Recipes, Rice/Risotto, Sides and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

44 Responses to Brown Rice with Porcini Mushrooms

  1. Yuri says:

    Nice plating! Porcini mushrooms are one of my favorites and the bf loves them as well. The combination of rices you use sounds interesting πŸ™‚ I have wild rice, white jasmine, white basmati, brown short grain and sushi rice at home, mostly to cook for my bf or family. My favorite rice is quinoa πŸ˜‰

  2. spree says:

    Wonderful recipe Greg! Love the mixture of rices, and dried porcinis add SUCH flavor! Very num!

  3. nrhatch says:

    Beautiful presentation. I love rice . . . brown, white, wild, jasmine, saffron, pudding, etc. πŸ˜€

  4. Carolyn Chan says:

    I still have some dried porcini mushrooms that we brought back from Italy and I was just wondering the other day what to cook with them. Thanks ! And gorgeous presentation πŸ™‚

  5. Purely.. Kay says:

    I love brown rice. I don’t care too much for white.. and I have no idea why. I just got tired of it growing up but I will still eat it with certain dishes. Your rice came out perfect

  6. April says:

    Yummy! That looks rich and delicious!

  7. I just happen to have some dried porcini mushrooms! Looks like I have tomorrow’s lunch planned!

  8. Wow, this looks great… wondering if the different types of rice all cook at around the same time, or if you need to leave it on the stove until the longest time it takes for one of types to cook… (does that make sense?)

  9. Beautiful dish Greg. Wonderful flavours and it looks great.

  10. Zo Zhou says:

    Sigh, simple but perfect. The kitchen towel idea is great too!

  11. Never think of mixing up my rice – like a little cocktail! Just need to put porcini mushrooms on my shopping list now!

  12. BrainRants says:

    Simple and delicious. I also just make white rice with chicken stock for a little ‘oomph’ when it will go well with the main dish.

  13. Stef says:

    The presentation is definitely fancy; love it!

    We use brown rice for every dish calling for rice, including sushi, stir frys, beans and rice, gumbo, soup, jambalaya…. Health is the first consideration in our house, so it always wins. πŸ™‚

  14. Judy says:

    Porcini mushrooms make everything better! When we went to Italy it was one of the things we made sure we brought back with us. That coveted bag of mushrooms are long gone now. This recipe sounds delish!

  15. Wild rice and mushrooms just go together and the addition of the brown must add a lot of depth to the flavor. A perfect hearty, earthy winter dish…I know it’s not creamy like a risotto, but it kind of reminds me of one somehow. I love it.

  16. Rachel says:

    Mmmmm!!! I just finished (well, yesterday actually) the risotto I made and it honestly got better every day. Lovely – and what a pretty plate!

  17. ChgoJohn says:

    Delicious recipe, wonderful presentation, great plate, and a beautiful shot. Can’t get much better than this post. Well done!

  18. TasteFood says:

    I love this combination – it’s one of my favorites

  19. recipe is a good one Rufus (my granddaughter thinks the picture looks like a mound of worms) but I did not add additional salt which may have made it to salty for me…..having said this: this combination of ingredients marries well; good job!

  20. Amy says:

    I happen to have some leftover dried mushrooms from a dish I made a while ago and was wondering how to use them…problem solved!

  21. I’m using brown rice for the paella tonight, I love its nutty flavour. Dried mushrooms rock. This is a great recipe.

  22. Mm, this is the ultimate comfort food. We haven’t been feeling well at my home and this sounds good right now! You guys have a great weekend!

  23. Jasmine rice has good texture and flavor. Good display..

  24. A_Boleyn says:

    I haven’t had brown rice in ages but recently I picked up a brown/wild rice assortment at the Bulk Barn and am planning on making it so this is a very timely and inspiring post. It also looks delicious.

  25. Mel says:

    This looks beautiful! I have yet to try porcini mushrooms. From all that I’ve heard I should attempt to change this sooner rather than later…

  26. I never think to add anything into my rice, that looks really good!

  27. Kristy says:

    Mmmmm. This is right up our alley. (Well, except for the kids…they haven’t come around to mushrooms yet. Yet. πŸ˜‰ )

  28. Caroline says:

    Great form! πŸ˜‰ haha but really, I’m impressed. This sounds delicious. I could probably eat rice every day, no joke.

  29. needtotaste says:

    That photo looks like an optical illusion!

  30. Anything with mushrooms, especially porcini gets my vote and yes, I’m starting to prefer brown rice to white too. It’s got a wonderful flavour and texture.

  31. scholasticfood says:

    This reminds me a lot of some mushroom risotto recipes without the arm workout! Looks delicious!

  32. Now, all that’s left is for you to convince my husband how nice brown rice can be.
    πŸ™‚ Mandy

  33. I could eat this everyday.

  34. Pingback: Sunday Suppers: Winner, Winner, Chicken Dinner | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

  35. Pingback: Sunday Suppers: A Round of Comfort Food | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

  36. Pingback: 15 Homemade Delicious Brown Rice Dishes

  37. Lisa t says:

    I’m confused. Brown rice normally takes a 2:1 ratio water to rice. How could 1:1 be enough? Not too dry or hard?

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.