A little slice of cranberry and chocolate heaven

Cranberry plate sold separately

We saw this Devil’s Food cake from Bobby Flay over at Sweet & Crumby. We left out the white chocolate ganache because we never have white chocolate on hand and when we run to the grocery store for one thing we come home with 183. The combination of chocolate and cranberry was sinful and it was a hit at the dinner party we took it to. It’s perfect for the holiday season. You can check the recipe out on Geni’s site. Just please don’t leave a comment like, wow you sure did a better icing job than that Rufus clown. Foodies have feelings too!

About Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

This blog attempts to collect some of the things I try to create with food and booze. Sometimes I succeed and sometimes I fail. My hope is to entertain and maybe help people think a little harder about what they decide to eat and drink.
This entry was posted in Dessert and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

51 Responses to A little slice of cranberry and chocolate heaven

  1. Cranberry and chocolate – what more could you want? We have the same problem at the store! Don’t think we’ve ever left with just one item!

  2. Sue says:

    It looks great to me besides who cares as long as it tastes good

  3. Hahaha, I think there isn’t a thing wrong with your icing.. my favorite cake is a Devil’s… so dark and rich and chocolaty! Too bad about the plate;)

  4. sallybr says:

    183?

    I thiink we can beat you. Easily. Well, it’s definitely good to know we are not alone in our “problem”

    Loved this cake… great color, and I bet it tasted wonderful!

  5. nrhatch says:

    Looks delectable! πŸ˜€

  6. I am not a fan of “white chocolate” whatever that is? Chocolate needs to be dark and luscious and wicked!

  7. rutheh says:

    You foodies ROCK!
    White chocolate always seems like fat and if I were to sit with a spoon and a can of Crisco, white chocolate comes to mind. Dark chocolate is GOOD for you.

  8. Glad you and your fellow partiers enjoyed it! Thanks for the shout out! πŸ™‚

  9. Joanne says:

    HAHAHAHA. Your write-ups always make me laugh. And this one made me hungry too!

  10. Say what? That icing makes me want to stick my finger in the picture and nab that bit dripping down the corner of that slice, it looks so good! I know what you mean about the grocery…I can spend an hour there to get one thing, come home with 40 and then still have forgotten the main ingredient I went there for.

  11. A_Boleyn says:

    I agree … the colour is pretty dramatic and I’m sure it was sinfully delicious.

  12. Kristy says:

    LOL! “That Rufus clown.” Cracking up. So cracking up. The visual that this gives me…priceless. And only because I can’t ice anything worth a darn. πŸ˜‰

  13. Lol your icing job isn’t bad lol. Hey its chocolate, I don’t care what it looks like, as long as the cake is moist.. I’m happy :). And this definitely looks moist

  14. Believe it or not I would rather do a whole cake in fondant than ice a single cup cake! to me you did a brilliant job with the icing.I just wish we had cranberries here, it is hard to find even frozen ones!

  15. looooll… now I’m itching to go see what icing job Geni’s done…

    …you know, even if it’s better, this looks deadly enough to want to bite in to…

  16. Delicious looking cake – never thought of the cranberry combination.

  17. Charles says:

    Oh yeah – “keeping white chocolate on hand”… bwahaha, what a joke. That stuff disappears faster than nothing else known to mankind. Loving the cake Greg! Looks really moist and soft!

  18. Tandy says:

    it looks delicious! and well iced πŸ™‚

  19. Sissi says:

    Dark chocolate plus tangy cranberries sound like something I would go crazy for.

  20. Sophie33 says:

    I just went to that blog for the recipe & yours & that original recipe both rock!
    Yummmm,…!!!

  21. It looks gorgeous and better than any icing job I could do. It looks like Christmas on a plate!

  22. Same question I asked Roger yesterday:
    “Is there any left for breakfast?”

  23. niasunset says:

    It seems so delicious and so beautiful. I loved it. Thank you for you both, with my love, nia

  24. ChgoJohn says:

    Your photo sure is an attention grabber! If this is the kind of gift you bring to your hosts, you must be invited to plenty of parties!

  25. I will do my best to ignore the fact that this was a Bobby Flay recipe and give it a try!

  26. zestybeandog says:

    Looks great, I think I’d prefer it without the frosting…. πŸ™‚

  27. Delectable!
    πŸ™‚ Mandy

  28. spree says:

    Since this is just a little slice of heaven, can I have another, sir? πŸ™‚
    This looks wonderful, Rufus!

  29. That is gorgeous, Greg! Such amazing colors and depth of flavor (I would imagine).

  30. jo-lyn says:

    I.WANT.THAT.

  31. Amy says:

    Hehe, this post made me laugh out loud πŸ™‚ I think your cake looks equally lovely to the one you got the recipe from. This sounds like a seriously amazing combo! I love chocolate with tart things. I need to make this!!!

  32. Carol Ann says:

    As far as i am concerned they both look beautiful I think this might be the recipe I make for the bosses this year!

  33. Very nice and satisfying it looks. It will be treat to eat this after a big coarse meal.

  34. This looks like a Red Velvet Cake, but far superior (I can’t figure out what the draw to that silly cake is). I love the combo of cranberries and chocolate. Very festive indeed.

  35. egg me on says:

    I think you did a fine job on the frosting! Glad you left out the white chocolate. White chocolate? What is it?? But yeah, this cake looks great!

  36. peasepudding says:

    What a great combination, I will have to forward this to my American friend here in NZ, she love any recipe with cranberries, not that it is very easy to hold of fresh or frozen.

  37. ceciliag says:

    Foodies have Feelings? Well, you learn something every day! c

  38. Caroline says:

    The cake looks so moist…great recipe! I know, I rarely get out of the grocery store with only one item, but surprisingly did the other day. Well, maybe that’s because I did all of my shopping at one store, then had to go to a different store to get one item the other didn’t have. That counts??

  39. Were the dinner party guests licking their paws for a long time afterwards? I would have…
    Great colour.

  40. Love the choco-cranberry color!

  41. rsmacaalay says:

    Lol, love that recipe just look at that shiny glaze. Can’t take my eyes out of it

  42. looks great! What a yummy combination too. I’m trying to imagine it with white chocolate and it just isn’t sounding very appealing to me. I think I’d like your version!

  43. Stef says:

    Holy buckets, that looks fantastic! And I think I like your non-white-chocolate version better. Yum!

  44. I’ve honestly never thought of combining cranberry and chocolate in a cake! I love chocolate covered cranberries, too! Yum yum!

  45. aFrankAngle says:

    Now we’re talking … bring on the ruby port and have the refills ready.

  46. SimpleP says:

    Chocolate and fruit – it doesn’t get any better. Yum!

  47. spicegirlfla says:

    Perfect combination; made with love and thats all that matters!!

  48. nancyc says:

    The chocolate and cranberry combination sounds great!

  49. If I go for milk, I come home with a grocery cart full. : )
    I want some milk now…to go with this treat! Yum!

  50. My grocery bill is enormous because I do the same thing as you all. Go for one thing and come home with $100 worth of groceries. I can’t imagine how good that chocolate and cranberries must be. Two of my favorite things. I am going to make this one.

  51. Mel says:

    That looks delectable! Love the red in the photo.

    I’m the same with grocery shopping… even though I go without a car, I still always buy more than a few things even if I walk in for one and focus intently on that thing the whole time I am in the shop.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.