Pumpkin bisque with shrimp

Crawfish would also work well

This is a light, simple and very flavorful bisque. The base can be prepared a day ahead and then finished 15 minutes before serving. All of this makes it a perfect first course for meals that are quite large, time consuming and filling. Especially if the house is full of hungry family and friends who have been around all day and already eaten all the appetizers.

Canned pumpkin puree is perfectly fine to use in this instead of fresh pumpkin. Just make sure it is not a can of pumpkin pie filling. If you use fresh pumpkin, steam it in the oven until it can be mashed into a smooth puree.  Smaller shrimp can be used if 16-20 size are not available. The most important thing is the shrimp is as fresh as possible and definitely not from a bag in the freezer section. To cut sage leaves into ribbons, roll up the leaves and then slice them as thin as possible along the edge. Then unroll the slices to form long ribbons. Do not slice the sage leaves until just about ready to serve or it will begin to dry out on the counter. This will serve 6-8 people. The recipe is adapted from one on Epicurious from The Herbfarm Cookbook.

Pumpkin Shrimp Bisque

  • 1 lb fresh 16-20 sized shrimp
  • 1 cup dry white wine
  • 4 cups fresh chicken or vegetable stock
  • 2 ribs celery chopped roughly
  • 1 small onion chopped roughly
  • 2 bay leaves
  • 8 fresh sage leaves
  • 2 cups fresh pumpkin puree
  • 1 cup heavy cream
  • 1/2 tsp cayenne pepper
  • 1/2 lemon
  • 2 tbsp fresh sage cut into thin ribbons
  • Salt/pepper

Peel and devein shrimp. Place the shrimp in a bowl and refrigerate. Add three tablespoons olive oil to a four-quart sauce pan and heat over medium high. Add shrimp shells when oil is hot but not smoking and cook shells, stirring constantly, until deep orange, about five minutes. Do not burn the shells. Add the onion and celery and cook until softened. Add wine and boil it until mostly evaporated. Add stock, bay leaves, uncut sage leaves and season with salt and pepper. Bring to a boil then simmer stock on low for 30 minutes. Strain stock, pressing all the liquid out of solids with a spoon as possible. Add stock back to pan and whisk in pumpkin, cayenne pepper and cream. Bring to a simmer and then cook on low until bisque begins to thicken, about 10 minutes. Squeeze lemon into soup and season with salt and pepper. If need be, add more cayenne as well. At this point the soup can be set aside and refrigerated for up to a day. To finish bring soup, back to a simmer over low heat. In a large frying pan heat two tablespoons olive oil over medium high heat and add reserved shrimp. Cook until shrimp is just cooked through and no longer translucent but has not begun to curl. Divide shrimp equally into 6-8 bowls and ladle hot soup over them. The shrimp will cook the rest of the way in the broth. Sprinkle the ribbons of sage into each bowl and serve immediately.

About Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

This blog attempts to collect some of the things I try to create with food and booze. Sometimes I succeed and sometimes I fail. My hope is to entertain and maybe help people think a little harder about what they decide to eat and drink.
This entry was posted in Appetizers, Recipes, Sides, Soups and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

59 Responses to Pumpkin bisque with shrimp

  1. easybaked says:

    YUM!!!!!! I want this with crab…. what a yummy comfort food this is- very creative use of pumpkin!!!! 🙂

  2. TasteFood says:

    This sounds delicious – I agree with the crab too!

  3. Hey we had this at our hotel in Shanghai the other day but yours sounds better!

  4. Ryan says:

    Wow, this combines about all of my favorite fall flavors in one soup! I want some right now– I must try this!

  5. Kristy says:

    This looks heavenly. It’s my soup for next week!!! Sage, pumpkin and shrimp. You’re killing me.

  6. nrhatch says:

    Looks like you served up a winner!

  7. BrainRants says:

    Sounds totally awesome. I want some.

  8. That looks amazingly yum. Just what I need for my lunch now.

  9. rutheh says:

    In a hotel and no cooking facilities so won’t be trying it this weekend! Looks rich and delicious.

  10. Beautiful colours – nice pic. Every stall and shop around here is piled with pumpkins and I’m yet to be converted. I do like roasted “butter nut” squash, but there’s a sweetness to pumpkin that doesn’t work for me.

  11. Korena says:

    Oh WOW this sounds good! Pumpkin and sage are awesome flavours together, and I bet the shrimp is great in there too!

  12. Tandy says:

    what a lovely bisque! I am so wary of packet prawns in case they are from a dodgy source 🙂

  13. Greg, Such lovely flavor combinations, even without tasting it, I can tell it is going to be right on. Take Care

  14. Lovely looking bisque!

  15. Thank you, thank you, thank you!
    I HATE when recipes just say ‘large’ or ‘medium’ shrimp…give me the actual size!
    (For those who don’t know, 16-20 means number of shrimp per pound….)
    Fabulous flavors here, too – if I was still in the business, I’d be sampling this for the holidays, and handing out the link!

  16. I will be honest, I probably wouldn’t try this if I saw it on another blog.. but you guys just make this pumpkin bisque look so good. Very nice

  17. spicegirlfla says:

    I am familiar with this recipe and I loved it!! It’s definitely light enough to be served before dinner. I’d love for you to linky it to my chowder post as I know it would be a great starter for Thanksgiving!!

  18. This looks so delicious and perfect for the season. We love shrimp along the Gulf and thank you for suggesting the 1 lb. 16-20 shrimp.

  19. Magnificent bisque!
    🙂 Mandy

  20. Sissi says:

    It looks filling, luscious and elegant. A perfect soup for an Autumn dinner.

  21. sallybr says:

    Great combination of flavors, I must make this soup for Phil, he will be in heaven!

  22. Rachel says:

    I like the sound of this one! Mmmm… and slurp! 🙂

  23. Number one – I love a good bisque! Number two – I love pumpkin and sage! This looks very, very good! We’ll leave Ritchey out of this one, because he would eat it all!

  24. Yuri says:

    Great looking bisque! I just tried to imagine a pumpkin pie filling shrimp bisque… lol

  25. egg me on says:

    Wow, pumpkin bisque! With shrimp! I wouldn’t necessarily think those 2 things would go together but you’ve made it look and sound pretty great. And this is making me sad I haven’t made anything with pumpkin yet. Dang it!

  26. Pumpkin bisque? really, can you get more creative and exotic. I love this idea. I am not a huge bisque lover but with the right texture and flavor I am all over it!

  27. ChgoJohn says:

    Your opening photo is incredible and this soup would really set the tone for a memorable holiday dinner. Invites to your table must be sought after & highly prized.

  28. I’ll have to remember this when my family’s here for Thanksgiving!

  29. Courtney says:

    Looks so good! And thank you for clarifying, I just know I’d be one of those people who picked out pumpkin pie filling as opposed to canned pumpkin. 😉

  30. Oh. My. Word. I need this right now, for breakfast.

  31. zestybeandog says:

    This looks amazing, and I bet crawfish would be wonderful! What a great soup!

  32. Joanne says:

    Okay, this is insane. I’m so happy you posted this, because at a restaurant a few weeks ago I had a Pumpkin Lobster Bisque with Pecan Pie Ravioli and it was SO good. This recipe looks like it would be similar. Can’t wait to try!!!

  33. Caroline says:

    Oh YUM! That soup sounds unreal. I can taste the rich flavors just thinking about it. I’ll take three bowls, please.

  34. Wow – what lovely flavours together … prawns, pumpkin and cream. It looks so pretty too!

  35. I’m so addicting to pumpkin right now… I can’t believe I haven’t done a pumpkin soup yet! Great idea to use sage in this, and I bet the cayenne kick sends it over the edge. Yum!

  36. Kas says:

    Mmmm that looks too delicious! Sounds like quite a lovely array of flavors.

  37. Karen says:

    A beautiful start for the holiday meal.

  38. Judy says:

    This sounds really, really good. Love the idea of the fresh sage!

  39. Yvette says:

    a wonderful meal, and looks good and satisfying! Accompanied with crusty bread and chilled white wine…? you both have a great weekend!

  40. I love the look of this bisque – and pumpkin has become one of my favourite ingredients, just a pity I can’t seem to find canned pumpkin puree here in Mexico..i’m all about making life simple 🙂

  41. Charles says:

    Looks great – you know, I don’t think I ever had a bisque. Something that will have to corrected before long! I bet cray/craw-fish would be awesome in this too!

  42. rsmacaalay says:

    Ohhhh that bisque looks divine

  43. Eva Taylor says:

    Pumpkin and shrimP are an interesting combo, I will have to give it a try (mind you, I’ll just milk or evaporated non fat milk to keep the fattage down!)

  44. Pingback: Corn Chowder with Roasted Pumpkin « Savoring Every Bite

  45. Sounds phenomenal and I might even kick up the cayenne a bit.

  46. I would love this! Pumpkin is a favorite of mine any way you use it.

  47. JamieAnne says:

    Wowzers! This looks really good!

  48. Jeff says:

    What a great thanksgiving/autumn style meal! Great looking recipe!

  49. needtotaste says:

    Oh, that must be delicious.

  50. seafood, cream, pumpkin, YES PLEASE! You are making me so jealous with all these wonderful autumn recipes.

  51. Pingback: Sunday Suppers: Gourmet Rice and Beans | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

  52. Mara says:

    This is very very good! I wonder how it would taste also with crab or halibut. But I do love shrimp so this was just right!

  53. Pingback: Sunday Suppers: What’s for Dinner, Pumpkin? | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

  54. Pingback: All Our Thanksgiving Day Recipes in One Place | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

  55. Pingback: Our Favorite Pumpkin Recipes | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

  56. Pingback: Green Beans and Toasted Almonds | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

  57. Pingback: All Our Thanksgiving Recipes in One Place (Take Two) | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

  58. Pingback: Thanksgiving Menu | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

Leave a Reply

