Liquid chocolate

Because baking is just so time consuming….

Better than a box of Thin Mints

Mint-chocolate martini

Combine liquors in an ice filled shaker. Give it a shake. Pour in martini glass drizzled with chocolate sauce. Admire. Drink.

We got this recipe and the ingredients at the Finger Lakes Distilling. Just doing our part to help their economy.

Chocolate covered cherries

  • 1 part sour cherry liqueur
  • 3-4 dashes chocolate bitters

Pour liqueur in cordial glass, top with chocolate bitters. Garnish with cherry or chocolate or both.

Garnish as you see fit

About Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

This blog attempts to collect some of the things I try to create with food and booze. Sometimes I succeed and sometimes I fail. My hope is to entertain and maybe help people think a little harder about what they decide to eat and drink.
This entry was posted in Dessert, Recipes, Spirits and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

47 Responses to Liquid chocolate

  1. BrainRants says:

    Does making Homer Simpson sounds qualify as a comment?

  2. admire, indeed. i’m not much of a baker, so this chocolate infusion is right up my alley!

  3. ChgoJohn says:

    Two posts in one and both look delicious! We are doubly blessed and have you both to thank for it. So, thank you!

  4. Kristy says:

    Love that last picture – it’s gorgeous!

  5. Tandy says:

    I have had a chocolate martini once – it knocked me right over :)

  6. Here I thought there was some chocolate lol. You should have seen my face. I know most people love alcohol but I wanted the chocolate lol. Love these recipes though

    • Oh, no. OK, we do our drink posts on Wednesday nights so if you don’t come by on those days we won’t tell your mom. And we’ll do a few nonalcoholic drinks soon. We have one that’s perfect for Thanksgiving coming up.

      • Got the schedule now.. and how did you know my mother calls me and ask me did I visit the blogs today? Seriously she does. She’s now addicted.. and that’s my fault lol

  7. crustabakes says:

    chocolate and liqor. i am in!

  8. Chocolate and cherries…with alcohol. What’s not to like?!

  9. Seriously delicious! And on a weeknight? Admire, indeed!

  10. omg. this looks like absolute heaven!

  11. Alli says:

    I have some bad memories of drinking chocolate martinis….actually the memories are quite vague ;0)

  12. I would just gobble up the chocolate. : )

  13. egg me on says:

    With a title like “Liquid Chocolate” I had no idea what to expect. But duh — should have known it had something to do with booze. Haha. A martini that tastes like a Thin Mint?! Sign me up!

  14. De-lish! I do want to try this.

  15. I love your simple drink creations- perfect for a night in or for a small get together!

  16. Judy says:

    Mmm, chocolate and mint are a superb combo, makes me think of the holidays sipping hot chocolate with the kids. Of course, this is something only hubby and I would share :)

  17. Love the chocolate covered cherry garnish! Though, I can only handle a couple of those bites before I start feeling queasy.

  18. Charles says:

    Needs “moar chocolate” – for shame, only creme de cacao? Well – still looks pretty darn nice in any event!

  19. Just think I can now get drunk on chocolate!

  20. Chocolate covered cherry for me!

  21. ceciliag says:

    You guys are bad, bad, bad. bad. bad!!! c

  22. eva626 says:

    chocolate attracts many people…lol love it

  23. nrhatch says:

    Candy is dandy, liquor is quicker . . . and ingesting BOTH is BETTER! :D

  24. pursuitofhappieness says:

    Looks gorgeous

  25. spicegirlfla says:

    SCORE! You bet I will be making this one! This will replace dessert and like you said, no baking!!

  26. Caroline says:

    I particularly like the ‘admire’ portion of the directions. Pretty sure I’m doing that part right now. Sounds awesome!

  27. Hello, chocolate. Looks fantastic, pour me one!

  28. Holly says:

    I love martinis – mostly because of the glassware involved!

  29. Chocolate in a martini glass…is there nothing not to like about it….no arguments here in Nashville…I say “bottoms up”!

  30. joshuafagans says:

    I will have to try this since I have a lot of creme de cacao that I just don’t know what to do with!

  31. I have always been weak in the knees for a good chocolate martini, and adding mint is sure to have me in full blown love mode. Cannot wait to try this at home.

  32. Sissi says:

    Cherry and chocolate! It sounds fabulous! I don’t have any chocolate alcohol at home, but you have reminded me I have my last year’s home-made sour cherry vodka (which, I shouldn’t boast, but is awesome) and, like every Swiss citizen or resident, I have lots of good chocolate in the kitchen ;-) It should be enough for a quick aperitif tonight!
    Mint-chocolate martini reminds me my favourite chocolates at my favourite chocolate maker are mint infused… Thank you Greg for making me dream about all these alcohol delights at 9:40 am ;-)

  33. Agree, this Mint-chocolate Martini is definitely better than a box of Thin Mints ;) Pour me some, plse :) Love the chocolate covered cherry garnish.

  34. Kelly says:

    Oh, Greg, what a *gorgeous* photo.

  35. Mel says:

    Greg and Katherine. Your blog is the reason for the drool on my pillow!

  36. I love the first photo. And the sound of chocolate bitters – never heard of it!

  37. Courtney says:

    How the heck did my WP reader miss this???? Chocolate and liquor together?! A match made in heaven. Or in my kitchen. Soon.

  38. Because baking is just so time consuming….Of course!

  39. Oh yum! Yum! Yum! This was my fave martini for a very long time, until I turned to Merlot :)

  40. You are so naughty,leading us all into temptation!

Leave a Reply

