Vegetable Ragout

Extra grated Romano is never a bad idea

This is a great way to use up a bunch of vegetables that may be in the refrigerator right now. The combination below is just one of many possible suggestions. I was inspired by this version over at from the Bartolini kitchens. Bacon can be substituted for pancetta but it will not taste quite as good. To make this a vegetarian dish omit the pancetta and substitute 1/4 cup wine for sherry, which will impart more flavor to replace the flavor the bacon would add. Add the sherry at the same time as the wine.

Vegetable Ragout

  • 2-3 slices pancetta cut into very thin strips
  • 1 zucchini chopped into medium chunks
  • 3-4 green onions white parts minced, green parts chopped into fine rings
  • 2 portabello mushrooms chopped into medium chunks
  • 2 cloves garlic minced
  • 2 tbsp chopped fresh oregano
  • 1 tbsp chopped fresh parsley
  • 1 cup dry white wine
  • 1 lb thin pasta
  • 1/4 cup Romano
  • Salt/pepper

Cook pasta to al dente in boiling salted water. Strain and set aside. Heat one tablespoon olive oil in large saute pan and fry pancetta until crisp. Drain oil reserving about a tablespoon in pan. Over medium heat cook white part of onions until softened then add garlic and cook until fragrant, about 1 minute. Add mushrooms and cook until browned. Add zucchini and cook about 2 more minutes. Add wine and oregano, season with salt and pepper and cook on high until wine reduces by half. Reduce heat and add green part of onion and pasta to the pan. Toss contents together until incorporated. Remove from heat and add parsley and Romano. Mix and serve.

About Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

This blog attempts to collect some of the things I try to create with food and booze. Sometimes I succeed and sometimes I fail. My hope is to entertain and maybe help people think a little harder about what they decide to eat and drink.
This entry was posted in Dinner, Food, Recipes and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

41 Responses to Vegetable Ragout

  1. Kristy says:

    Pancetta…romano…you’re speaking to my soul. YUM! I do have all of the ingredients for this in my fridge. :)

  2. Always a big fan of using up leftover bits and pieces of veg and cold cuts in the pasta, but I love your idea of adding sherry to it! Yum!

  3. So many excellent ingredients there, sounds great

  4. Joanne says:

    What a nice use of veggies. And I agree about the cheese. I seriously cannot even imagine what life would be like without CHEESE!!!

  5. Yum! Love all the veggies!

  6. I don’t know why but this Vegetable Ragout looks sexy enough to not eat lol. Love the presentation.. but since I’m hungry I might as well try this out one day lol

  7. Great recipe, as ever! Love the size of the chunks, I hate it when people chop things up too small – especially when it is the main ingredient, or one of them.

  8. Charles says:

    Yummy – totally agree: massive quantities of grated cheese of any kind is never a bad thing :D I think I’d sling in some aubergine too – I love it with pasta.

  9. Gorgeous – and lots of cheese for me too please!

  10. wordsfallfrommyeyes says:

    I can’t tell you how much I appreciate this ragout. My son’s into martial arts and ACTUALLY ASKED ME FOR MORE VEGIES!! I just don’t know anything but mashed potato, pumpkin, brocolli. This looked a winner.

  11. niasunset says:

    http://photographyofnia.wordpress.com/2011/09/30/seven-links-seven-post-and-seven-blogs/
    As always this is so delicious recipe, dear Greg. You have been in my list again :) You can see my latest post for the details to your next mission. Thank you, Blessing and Happiness, with my love, nia

  12. Absolutely something to add to our menu this fall!

  13. Colline says:

    Looks absolutely delicious! I know that my children would enjoy the pasta!

  14. ChgoJohn says:

    Fridge pasta! When you haven’t enough of any one veggie for a side dish and combining them isn’t quite right. Add them to some pasta, however, and just like you have here, a great meal results. Thanks for the mention and I so agree with you about pancetta.

  15. sallybr says:

    Greg, I honestly don’t know where you find the energy to blog so often! Impressive, and always with such interesting and unique dishes… you and Katherine (I know she’s a huge part of it) make a wonderful team!

    and… your readers profit from it ;-)

    nice ragout, made me hungry and it’s not even 8am yet

  16. I have never done a vegetable ragout before but one look at your dish and I know it is the first thing on my to do list for next week! It looks amazing

  17. karencooking says:

    This looks like a great choice for this weekend! I’m adding it to the list . . .

  18. egg me on says:

    Mmm wine, veggies and pancetta. Very nice!

  19. nrhatch says:

    Past + Veggies + Cheese = YUMMY! :mrgreen:

  20. JamieAnne says:

    I love “use what you have” recipes. Awesome!!

  21. Sissi says:

    All the Italians say bacon will never taste as good as pancetta ;-) Seriously, it looks simple and delicious. A perfect leftover dish (of course for those who have affordable pancetta).

  22. spicegirlfla says:

    This obviously was Greg’s creation – Italians love to use up there veggies and of course, add them to pasta!!! I do the same; it’s an easy and quick week night dinner. Lots of cheese please!!

  23. Jake says:

    Amen to the photo caption!

  24. ambrosiana says:

    Oh!! I loved Johns recipe..so good!! I love the idea of adding bacon/pancetta…it gives the right kick to this veggie pasta dish!! Wonderful!!!

  25. Caroline says:

    Seriously….I need this pasta right now. I had a ton of veggies sitting in my fridge, so I just whipped up this veggie mixture I always make, but I’m pretty sure your pasta would have been so much tastier. ALWAYS more cheese!

  26. Love all these ingredients and if it has pasta I like it to begin with. Have a good weekend.

  27. TasteFood says:

    I love turning veggies into ragouts and soups.

  28. ceciliag says:

    we do this one here too, i still have piles of vegetables in the gardens so looks like we will have something like this in the next few days as well, have a great weekend. c

  29. Yuri says:

    Great idea to use the veggies we sometimes forget in our fridge drawers :)

  30. nancyc says:

    Love all those ingredients…looks like a delicious dish!

  31. Jessica says:

    Thanks for the shout-out to the vegetarians about using sherry. I haven’t tried that, but it sounds like a great idea! And yep, I am in favor of extra Romano. :)

  32. rsmacaalay says:

    After all of my meaty pastas I guess this will be a great change, though it is for vegetarians I guess I would love this so much, the flavours in that ingredients are oozing with great taste.

  33. Oh my gosh…this vegetable ragout looks heavenly! You have been cooking up a storm lately, judging by your posts. I am so jealous!

  34. Pingback: So Long Summer Sunday Supper | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

Leave a Reply

