Lemon Drop #2

Those two are mine

By Katherine

Can I pour a drink or what? Sure, Greg took that beautiful photo, but the behind the scenes drinker pouring, that was me. I didn’t spill a drop.

Lemon Drop #2

  • 2 ounces vodka
  • 1 ounce limoncello
  • 1/2 to 1 ounce lemon or regular simple syrup (I like more, Greg likes less)
  • 1 ounce lemon juice

Dribble a bit of simple syrup into one bowl and a bit of sugar in another. Dip the rims of two martini glasses into the simple syrup, then into the sugar. Mix all drink ingredients in a shaker filled with ice. Give it a good shake. Pour into prepared glasses and garnish with a candied lemon peel.

So why is this called No. 2? Because we posted another lemon drop earlier. Since good things come in threes, check out the Meyer Lemon Drop over at Acorns on Glen. Looks tasty.

About Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

This blog attempts to collect some of the things I try to create with food and booze. Sometimes I succeed and sometimes I fail. My hope is to entertain and maybe help people think a little harder about what they decide to eat and drink.
This entry was posted in Recipes, Spirits and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

50 Responses to Lemon Drop #2

  1. JamieAnne says:

    Lovely lemon heaven!

  2. ChefMom says:

    Yes please! Great photo Greg – but it was definitely the pour that made the shot. ;)

  3. Perfect photo. We can I come over for a drink? :-)

  4. I don’t think I want a drink lol but I know your recipes are the best ;). Great drink recipe I can serve to friends

  5. Holly says:

    ooo I like, although I must say after some rather nasty experiences of overdrinking limoncello I am somewhat afraid… As always, yes I do have a tale, it involved drinking cheap italian limoncello at a campsite on the base of Mount Etna. Post walking up etna we drank so much back in the camp… haha. I think you’ve inspired me to post about this!
    Anyway, I will keep this one to mind, didn’t know this was what a lemon drop was.
    Thank you Katherine, you two are a eating / drinking dream team [if you ever change your domain to that I want credit, ha]. Bye for now x

  6. Great drink and amazing photo!

  7. Lovley photo indeed and a steady hand pouring! Have finally checked out your limoncello recipe as I have only had nasty taste experiences with this (apart from my mum´s homemade which sounds very much like yours) I want to give your version a go. And as we are surrounded by lemons here in Andalucia, I really have no excuse do I?!

  8. Sissi says:

    Beautiful! And another idea of how to get rid of my limoncello ;-)

  9. Stunning picture Greg! Great job Katherine

  10. Looks like just the thing to go with your tiramisu… which I was thinking of all last night *sigh*

  11. ambrosiana says:

    Great photo!! I am going to try this drink with the Limoncello from Sorrento some friends gave us!!!!!

  12. Kelly says:

    Oh what a gorgeous photo! I will substitute tequila for the vodka – this looks too good to pass up! Thanks Greg.

  13. Beautiful! Your drinks always look so good.

  14. Lea Ann says:

    Beautiful photo! I’ve got limencello in the freezer, Do believe I’ll be having me a lemon drop this weekend! We were at a wedding a couple of weeks ago and everyone started ordering lemon drops. I had already had about a bazillion glasses of wine and was too scared to partake. I’ve been wanting to try one ever since.

  15. spicegirlfla says:

    That’s a winning photo! And that is a perfect summer drink! I know exactly what I will be having for cocktail hour tonight!!

  16. Great recipe, great photo! I’ve got to buy some limoncello soon! Not sure why I have not yet done so…

  17. charlywalker says:

    Oh great…not only do I gain weight from your blog..now I’ll have to join AA….

    Lovely Lemon drop!

  18. Leaving for Belmar, NJ on Sunday and I am definitely packing this recipe.

  19. martko1964 says:

    Looks good Greg and Katherine. Thanks for the shout out on Acorns On Glen. I’ll be toasting to both of you here in CT with my meyer lemon drop. Take care.

  20. Like many have said, great photo Greg! And great pour, Katherine!

    I love lemon drops…and anything lemon! Maybe I will try my hand at making my own, like you did.

  21. The Swedish Chef says:

    Beautiful photo! Makes me want to drink one on the porch…

  22. could do with one of those right now, then I’d drift away from this computer and go and sit in the garden and look at the lavender for a few hours. Hmmm.

  23. Looks gorgeous!

    Is that candied lemon peel?

  24. Caroline says:

    Now that’s one beautiful pour, Katherine, and the sugar on the rim looks perfect! Glad you claimed both glasses. :)

  25. Beautiful looking Lemon drop, I could definitely do with one of those now, it’s about that time. Drink o clock! Stunning photo too!

  26. nrhatch says:

    Looks delish! :cool:

  27. Tiff says:

    Yes please! Is it 5:00 yet???

  28. kankana says:

    This is a great .. this weekend for sure i am gonna try this.

  29. Totally my kind of drink…I have been making infused liqueurs and this is great inspiration!

  30. Karen says:

    I really like the lemon theme going on here. Can’t wait to see the next act…I hope there is one as I really love every thing lemon. The photo was perefect!

  31. Limoncello and Grand Marnier are my two drinks of choice, so you hit the motherlode here. Man, this looks divine.

  32. niasunset says:

    WOW! Your beautiful photograph makes me to taste this one :) You are great. Thank you dear Rufus, I want to find all these things, maybe we have here too, but I should search otherwise when I travel to UK the end of this month, I can find there. :) I hope!!!!!

  33. This looks great. I’m getting thirsty.

  34. Maureen says:

    You two could pour me a drink anytime! Looks fantastic.

  35. Yum, I love lemons! I literally squeeze a lemon wedge in most of my drinks! This is a cool pic too buy the way! Have a great weekend!

  36. SimpleP says:

    I really need to have friends over so I can try some of these limoncello recipes!

  37. Looking at that photo I just want to reach out, grab a glass and keep it all to myself. Just like homemade lemonade, only spiked! Perfect.

  38. Pingback: Photo Challenge ~ Colorful « Spirit Lights The Way

  39. Pingback: Toasting the New Year | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

Leave a Reply

