Peachy keen pancakes

More from my lovely wife….

A little slice of sunlight

Growing up we’d make pilgrimages to the South each summer. Six squirming kids packed in a ’78 Impala wagon, fighting over who had to sit in the middle of the middle seat or worse, sandwiched between our parents up front. The farther south we’d drive down U.S 81 the more billboards we’d see — peaches, fireworks, peaches, fireworks, peaches, fireworks.

There’s nothing like a Southern peach. Purists may argue over whether Georgia or the Carolinas hold claim to the best. But it hardly matters, with juice dripping down your chin or the smell of a fresh cobbler your grandma just whipped together filling a steamy kitchen. (For the record, the grandma in this particular memory was Georgia born and bred and the recipe was all in her head.)

When Greg and I moved to California more than a decade ago, we all but gave up on peaches. It was the one type fruit that didn’t taste better in the Golden State. Years later, when we moved to the middle of the county to a Southern landlocked state we’d only flown over, we started looking forward to peach season again.

This year, the first peaches of the season were a bit of a disappointment. Although, in all honesty the first ones of the season, normally are. Come July we’ll reach into that paper bag on the counter, grab a peach and barely make time to wash it– I like the fuzz, he doesn’t — before we wolf it down wiping the juice off our chins with the back of our hands, a bit delirious. OK, we use napkins these days. But it doesn’t make the peaches any less sweet.

Peach Pancakes

  • 1/2 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 cup whole wheat flour
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1 beaten egg
  • 1 cup buttermilk (see note below)
  • 1 peach, peeled and diced fine (optional)

Peach Topping

  • 2 peaches, peeled, pitted and sliced
  • 1 tbsp brown sugar
  • 1 tbsp butter
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • drizzle of peach schnapps (optional)

For pancakes: Mix dry ingredients. Make a well in the center and add wet ingredients. Stir to incorporate, then add diced peaches. The mix should be a bit lumpy. Cook on a griddle or a hot frying pan. Cook in batches, pouring about a quarter cup of batter on at a time. When you start to see bubbles flip. Cook until golden, about two minutes on each side.

For topping: In a two-quart saucepan, melt butter over medium heat and whisk in brown sugar until combined. Add peaches, and just a tad bit of schnapps. Stir in cinnamon and cook until the peaches are well coated and the mixture is nice and syrupy.

Notes: The recipe above can be doubled or more depending on how many people you’re serving. We were serving two and still had some left over. If you don’t have buttermilk, you can put a tablespoon of lemon juice or vinegar in your measuring cup and fill it the rest of the way to the one cup mark with regular milk. Let stand for five minutes before using.

About Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

This blog attempts to collect some of the things I try to create with food and booze. Sometimes I succeed and sometimes I fail. My hope is to entertain and maybe help people think a little harder about what they decide to eat and drink.
This entry was posted in Breakfast, Food, Recipes and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

43 Responses to Peachy keen pancakes

  1. Wonderland article Katherine. Although I’m severely allergic to Peaches, I found myself wanting to try this and forgot that I will pass out with no oxygen if I did LMAO. Do you know how fast my mother moved me over to read this recipe? LOL. Wonderful

  2. Katherine says:

    Thanks, Kay! I bet your mom has some great recipes for peaches. I think being allergic to peaches is preferable to being allergic to chocolate! Could you imagine?

  3. myblogject says:

    This is such a gorgeously written post. I love it. Especially your peach anecdotes… Amazing. Plus having am american pancake recipe is much appreciated. Thank you

  4. Love the story and can almost feel the atmosphere with all the kids in the wagon! This is exactly how I make my pancakes, apart from the buttermilk (which I´ve alays wanted to get hold of but can´t and now I know how to make it – so thanks!). Looking forward to peaches here too…aren´t we all so lucky with this wonderful fruit.

  5. gisellecagli says:

    I loved your story. When it comes to food, childhood memories determines our attachement to certain dishes. In your case, peaches grown in your home state are special not only for their unique taste but for what they meant while you were a child. I somewhat call them comfort food since when I eat them, they are not only delicious but take me back in time when I was a very happy child.

  6. I see the writing talent definitely runs in the family! This looks so delicious-main meal or dessert!

  7. Colline says:

    Sounds delicious. I like the peachy twist on the pancakes!

  8. fatisrecipes says:

    Aha…. I just wish it was peach season now!!

  9. Loved the story behind the recipe. This was especially touching to me since at this very moment I’m sitting in South Carolina at my parent’s home, enroute to Georgia to my in-laws. My mom and I have been reminiscing about my grandmother’s cooking — meals that stick to your memory and will never taste the same without her in the kitchen. This peach topping looks like a great side dish anytime of day without the pancakes! Yummy.

  10. SimpleP says:

    Reminds me of bananas foster, only with peaches. Looks delicious!

  11. Charles says:

    I loved reading this post – it sounded so whimsical and fun – you have a great style of writing here! The pancakes and peaches looks great… I just want to reach out and roll one up and stuff it in my mouth! :)

  12. JamieAnne says:

    Golly gee those look nifty! Great recipe.

  13. Oh yum! My husband doesn’t eat eggs (due to more than one incident involving eggs for breakfast and then going fishing on a boat…guess I can’t blame him), so I’m always looking for some egg-free breakfast ideas. I’ll be adding this to my list to try!

  14. jenlenew says:

    These look so delicious!

  15. I love hearing the backstory :) I am a total peach addict in the summer too, and those do look sunny and cheeful and delicious.

  16. Loved your post Katherine..I could almost smell that cobbler in your story!
    I love peaches but never had them with pancakes and seems I am messing alot!
    Thank you for the wonderful recipe

  17. nrhatch says:

    We had some delicious Georgia peaches this week . . . and Georgia corn! Yummy!
    I love summer fruits and veggies.

    Your recipe sounds great.

  18. ChefMom says:

    These look heavenly! What a great breakfast to wake up to – maybe one of these days I’ll surprised the kids with this for breakfast. Better yet, maybe one of these days they’ll surprise me with this for breakfast!

  19. Blueberries have come and gone in Texas. Thanks for reminding me that peach season is just around the corner.

  20. Rachel says:

    Can’t seem to get decent peaches in central Texas this year, but oh the Chambersburg peaches up in Pennsylvania at the end of summer…. droolingly slurpingly good! Love your photo — I can almost smell it! Mmmm!!!

  21. edwincov says:

    Unlike Rachel’s comment, I can almost TASTE it from the photograph!!! I love peaches!!!!! I’ve never been good in the kitchen, I have to send this to someone to make for me hahaha :)

    Edwin
    http://awkwardlist.com

  22. How cute! I’m ready to see more peaches at my farmers market. They’re so good! And, thanks for the buttermilk tip!

  23. Oh wow these look so good! Never thought to pair peaches with pancakes. Will have to try!

  24. Angela says:

    Yum! This is almost like having peach cobbler for breakfast. You can’t go wrong with buttermilk pancakes or Southern peaches.

  25. Ginger says:

    I have to agree with all of the other commenters, this is a lovely post! I enjoyed your story very much and peaches on pancakes sound incredible!

  26. rsmacaalay says:

    Only had tried cinnamon on apples, this certainly tastes even better, I love peaches and this will be my breakfast tomorrow

  27. easybaked says:

    lol– peaches and fireworks :) I think peaches are my favorite fruit– but like you, I don’t even usually waste my time with them here- its such a chance…. These pancakes look wonderful- I wish I had time to try them right now for breakfast!!!!! Maybe tomorrow!! Thank you for sharing!!! :)

  28. The peaches are nearly ripe here now too. I’ve been bookmarking peach recipes for a while. My favourite being Mint Julep Peaches which I have yet to try but will be the first I reckon. I love peach cobbler too and these pancakes are definitely up there too now!! :D

  29. Oh my – i only had 2 older brothers to worry about in the back of a car and that was bad enough – not sure I would have survived if there were 6 of us.
    Your pancakes (crumpets as we call them) look great, such a great idea about the peach topping. :-) Mandy

  30. Kelly says:

    Peach schnapps… now that sounds like fun! I’d have to move them to dinner cakes though lest I start snoozing at 10 am on the schnapps! :)

  31. Yuri says:

    Great looking pancakes, love the generous portion of peaches on top. YUM!

  32. I need this recipe as peaches are coming off of my trees daily! Looks delish!

  33. ....RaeDi says:

    Wonderful, I think you could cook for me anytime….RaeDi

  34. kat says:

    peach pancakes….omg yummy idea!!! :)

  35. kat says:

    That peach topping sounds so delicious! I wanted to make a something like that for my pancakes when I had peaches a week ago lol

  36. Pingback: Fluffy Pancakes with Peach Sauce «

  37. Pingback: Crunchy Delicious Waffles with Peach Sauce «

  38. Pingback: Life’s a Peach | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

Leave a Reply

