A Saucy Bit of Remoulade

Can I buy you a fish sandwich

Can I buy you a fish sandwich

This is an easy sauce to make and goes great over all sorts of fish — especially leftover fried catfish — with fresh tomatoes and shredded lettuce on a whole-wheat hoagie roll. (We’re not posting the recipe for a Po’ Boy, since the catfish was takeout. If fried isn’t your speed perhaps a blackened shrimp sandwich would be up your alley.)

The recipe is my version of Emeril Lagasse‘s.

Remoulade

  • 2 tbsp horseradish
  • 3 tbsp whole grain spicy brown mustard
  • 3 tbsp Dijon mustard
  • 3 tbsp ketchup
  • 2 tbsp fresh parsley coarsely chopped
  • 2 cups roughly chopped green onion
  • 1/2 cup roughly chopped celery
  • 1/4 cup fresh lemon juice
  • 3/4 cup olive oil
  • 2 large cloves garlic roughly chopped
  • 1-2 tbsp cayenne hot sauce
  • Salt/pepper

Blend everything together until smooth in a blender. Season with salt and pepper and serve immediately or refrigerate for up to a week.

About Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

This blog attempts to collect some of the things I try to create with food and booze. Sometimes I succeed and sometimes I fail. My hope is to entertain and maybe help people think a little harder about what they decide to eat and drink.
This entry was posted in Appetizers, Food, Recipes, Seafood and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to A Saucy Bit of Remoulade

  1. Rachel says:

    Mmmmmm! My mother made a tamer version that included capers – I think I’d like this just fine! And, yes, why yes you can (buy me a fish sandwich), any time! Please!! ;-)

  2. Have you tried remoulade sauce on chips or fries? It’s fantastic and your version would be awesome. I’m finishing up my first batch of your bourbon cherries today and will link back in my next post. Can’t wait to try one. :)

  3. ChgoJohn says:

    That’s a great lookin’ sandwich!

Leave a Reply

