Edamame Tahini Spread

Not the color of hummus

Not the color of hummus

This is a nice alternative to traditional hummus, but we won’t call it a hummus because we’re stubborn like that. Hummus needs chick peas. Serve this with roti or pita bread.

Edamame Tahini Spread

  • 16 oz edamame
  • juice from one lemon
  • 1-2 tbsp tahini paste
  • 1/4 to 1/2 cup olive oil
  • 1/2 cup parsley
  • 3-4 cloves garlic

Cook edamame according to the instructions on the package. Let cool. Puree with lemon juice, one tablespoon of tahini, garlic, parsley and a quarter cup of olive oil. Add more olive oil as needed and more tahini to your taste. Season with salt and pepper. Refrigerate until ready to serve.

About Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

This blog attempts to collect some of the things I try to create with food and booze. Sometimes I succeed and sometimes I fail. My hope is to entertain and maybe help people think a little harder about what they decide to eat and drink.
This entry was posted in Appetizers, Food, Recipes, vegetarian and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Edamame Tahini Spread

  1. Jueseppi B. says:

    Reblogged this on The ObamaCrat™.

  2. It looks like guacamole. I’m curious. I do like hummus and I wonder what it tastes like.

  3. sallybr says:

    I made edamame “hummus” a few times, it is delicious! Lighter, and I love the color too

  4. Sherry says:

    oh I bet this is good!

  5. Young Wifey says:

    I love edamame “hummus”! Especially with blue corn tortilla chips.

  6. Caroline says:

    Love this idea–sounds great! So healthy, too!

  7. Raymund says:

    Now I want this for my dip :)

  8. I am going to try this. Big edamame season in Japan now and you can get different kinds, all fresh. Got a bagful yesterday.

  9. Chris says:

    Do you pop the edamame out of the shell after cooking or just puree it whole? It looks yummy!

Leave a Reply

