Uncle Charlie’s Trick

Just another mushroom risotto

Just another mushroom risotto

Here is a different way to finish a risotto from my Uncle Charlie’s repertoire. I made a mushroom risotto and instead of using Romano cheese at the end I used two tablespoons of mascarpone. The final result was very rich, creamy and buttery and would work well in many risottos. Of course Romano is a pretty tasty way to finish one as well.

If you don’t know how to make a risotto then go here.

 

About Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

This blog attempts to collect some of the things I try to create with food and booze. Sometimes I succeed and sometimes I fail. My hope is to entertain and maybe help people think a little harder about what they decide to eat and drink.
This entry was posted in Dinner, Italian, Rice/Risotto and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Uncle Charlie’s Trick

  1. cecilia says:

    yum.. I’ll try it.. c

    On Tue, Jun 3, 2014 at 10:36 PM, Rufus’ Food and Spirits Guide wrote:

    > Rufus’ Food and Spirits Guide posted: ” Here is a different way to > finish a risotto from my Uncle Charlie’s repertoire. I made a mushroom > risotto and instead of using Romano cheese at the end I used two > tablespoons of mascarpone. The final result was very rich, creamy and > buttery and would “

  2. Sherry says:

    you are becoming the go-to blog for risotto…sounds mighty good.

  3. Misky says:

    This looks completely delicious, and it’s a addition I’d not thought of before you mentioned it. Thanks, Greg!

  4. I’ve heard of doing this but for some reason haven’t tried it. I don’t see how could it be anything but creamy and delicious!

  5. Caroline says:

    OK, now you have me craving risotto! I’m sure the mascarpone was a great addition. I’ll have to try that next time!

Leave a Reply

