Arugula and Prosciutto Risotto

Look at the trail of pan behind the spoon

Look at the trail of pan behind the spoon

Take advantage of the arugula season with this simple risotto.

Arugula Prosciutto Risotto

  • 1 1/2 cups arborio rice
  • 1/8 lb prosciutto
  • 3-4 cups arugula leaves washed well
  • 1 cup minced red onion
  • 1 qt chicken stock at a simmer
  • 2 tbsp chopped fresh sage
  • 1/4 cup grated romano
  • 4 oz feta cheese
  • Salt/pepper

Follow the basic steps of making a risotto except add cheeses and arugula together at the end and wilt the leaves slightly while it sets. Also fry the prosciutto in olive oil and then almost caramelize the onions with the ham, adding butter if needed, then coat the rice kernels in the oil to start.

About Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

This blog attempts to collect some of the things I try to create with food and booze. Sometimes I succeed and sometimes I fail. My hope is to entertain and maybe help people think a little harder about what they decide to eat and drink.
This entry was posted in Dinner, Food, Italian, Pork, Recipes, Rice/Risotto and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Arugula and Prosciutto Risotto

  1. Eva Taylor says:

    I’m absolutely loving how creamy and gorgeous this looks and sounds! (As I’m licking my lips…)

  2. A_Boleyn says:

    Delicious looking risotto.

  3. Very good risotto recipe…my favourite ingredients

  4. Sally says:

    Very nice combo of ingredients – can’t beat a good risotto.

  5. Your risotto looks so delicious! It’s definitely not a good idea to read it at night. I am so hungry now :D

  6. TasteFood says:

    I love arugula and prosciutto everything, and I’ve never tried it with risotto. Great idea.

  7. Rachel says:

    Mmmmmm, so pretty! My arugula has come and gone already but I’ll either buy some or keep this for next year.

  8. Gerlinde says:

    This recipe looks good, it has all the ingredients I like.

  9. I have a bit of an arugula glut int he garden right now so this is perfectly timed!

Leave a Reply

