Venison Tacos

I like to overload my tacos

I like to overload my tacos

Remember the red cabbage slaw recipe? It goes great with the flavor of venison in this recipe.

Venison Tacos

  • 1 lb ground venison
  • 14 oz can chopped tomatoes
  • 1 cup finely diced onion
  • 1/2 cup finely diced red bell pepper
  • 1 tbsp chili powder
  • 1 ancho chili soaked in 1 cup boiling water
  • 2 tbsp fresh cilantro
  • Salt/pepper
  • 2 dashes tapitio

Mix venison with tomatoes and season with salt and pepper. Let stand, stirring occasionally for 1 hour. When cool enough to touch remove ancho from water and chop into fine bits. In a large frying pan heat 1 tbsp vegetable oil and saute onion until soft. Add red pepper and ancho pepper and saute until slightly browned. Add meat and brown using the tomato juice to deglaze the pan. Add chili powder and season with more salt and pepper. Add enough soaking liquid to loosen up the meat and then simmer on low until thick and bubbly. Add tapitio and cilantro, taste for seasoning and serve with tortillas, chopped cabbage or red cabbage slaw, guacamole and salsa.

About Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

This blog attempts to collect some of the things I try to create with food and booze. Sometimes I succeed and sometimes I fail. My hope is to entertain and maybe help people think a little harder about what they decide to eat and drink.
This entry was posted in Dinner, Food, Mexican, Recipes and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Venison Tacos

  1. Overloaded tacos are good!

  2. I always keep a stash of tortillas and various hot sauces in the ‘frig.

  3. sallybr says:

    Hard to find ground venison, but we do have ground bison at the store all the time… methinks that could work great too… Ancho chiles are spectacular!

  4. Wow! I will have to show this to my husband. The deer hunter.

  5. Raymund says:

    Now thats a fancy taco!

  6. Two things I love and one thing (venison) I don’t eat enough of together – genius!

Leave a Reply

