Things Spring in Spring

Arugula is so great

Arugula is so great

So as you can see the arugula is already getting pinched back. The spring has been cool and wet so the spinach and arugula have been producing like rabbits. The carrots are almost ready to be pulled but even better the garlic scapes are right around the corner.

Now I just need to keep an eye out for fava bean pods….

Anytime now would be nice

Anytime now would be nice

The spices have come back and what is left of the rosemary may survive. It is also time to start plucking the tomato plants along with the flowers on the arugula plants. This is also a good time to get the bugs out of the watering schedule and do a little weeding.

Oh and here are the first tomatoes of the season.

Just a glimmer in a bees' eye right now

Just a glimmer in a bees’ eye right now

About Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

This blog attempts to collect some of the things I try to create with food and booze. Sometimes I succeed and sometimes I fail. My hope is to entertain and maybe help people think a little harder about what they decide to eat and drink.
This entry was posted in Garden, How to and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Things Spring in Spring

  1. A_Boleyn says:

    With the weather being so erratic, a hearty rosemary bush I had just acquired last spring, died. I’m not sure if the Greek oregano made it either. I guess I’ll have to pull everything out of the planters, add fresh potting soil and start all over again. Both the arugula and tomato plants in your garden look lovely.

  2. I lost most of the thyme over the winter…and I give up on rosemary. Chives, tarragon, and mint are growing well, though…
    Can’t believe you have blooms on the tomatoes before I even have plants n the ground…ah, well!

  3. Eva Taylor says:

    I’m afraid that our lavender didn’t make it and we lost the holly bush too, it’s been such a nasty weather year. I’m thinking about a container garden on the garage roof, hoping to get tomatoes and kale planted.

  4. ChgoJohn says:

    This looks so great! I’m hoping the weather will arm enough so that I can plant my few plants this weekend and yours are already blooming.

  5. Don’t forget the bean tops too. Gorgeous and tasty.

  6. Karen says:

    Your garden sounds like it is doing great. All of us who garden in the north are looking at your garden with envy. My tomatoes are still being pampered indoors under lights until the weather warms up. Question, you mentioned experimenting with cutting the tops off the tomatoes a couple of years ago. I was wondering if you did and if so what the results were concerning the production of tomatoes?

Leave a Reply

