Naked Asparagus

Fresh raw asparagus, think of the outcome

Fresh raw asparagus, think of the outcome

This is a great starter salad or side for barbecued meat. Make sure to use fresh young asparagus stalks.

Raw Asparagus Salad

  • 1 bunch fresh asparagus stalks, about 12
  • Romano
  • 2 tbsp olive oil
  • 1 tsp lemon zest
  • 2 tbsp chopped fresh parsley
  • Salt/pepper

Using a vegetable peeler peel stalks of asparagus from the tip to the base into thin long ribbons. Snap off the tips and leave them whole. Grate Romano into thin strips until there is about a quarter cup of cheese. Mix everything together and season to taste with salt pepper and more olive oil and cheese if need be.

About Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

This blog attempts to collect some of the things I try to create with food and booze. Sometimes I succeed and sometimes I fail. My hope is to entertain and maybe help people think a little harder about what they decide to eat and drink.
This entry was posted in Appetizers, Food, Italian, Recipes, Sides, vegetarian and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Naked Asparagus

  1. Eva Taylor says:

    Love, love, love asparagus! Having it raw is a delicious idea and beautiful too!

  2. Jueseppi B. says:

    Reblogged this on The ObamaCrat™.

  3. What a cool idea! I love asparagus and this might just be a new way for us!

  4. I started an asparagus bed about 3 years ago. This is the first year I have gotten anything of significance from it. You know that home grown is always better but I was blown away by just how much better it is. It is sweet and green and amazing. I can’t wait to try this recipe with it. Yum!

  5. Cecile says:

    Well, I’ll be damned… who would’ve ‘thunk it’ – raw asparagus??!! I want to try this. And I’d like to begin to grow my own asparagus… that is… if I can keep Mr. Groundhog out. I just saw the little varmint for the first time today. We stared at each other like two cowboys at High Noon… just eyeballing each other… sizing each other up…then he sauntered away confidently.

  6. Cecile says:

    Mr. Groundhog ‘went away’ the summer that Mrs. Skunk took over the ‘home’ under my barn, where she gave birth to babies. Mrs. Skunk was something else. She had only have half a tail – and she’d ‘hang out’ with me when I was outside reading OR having a beer. She used to eat the cat food I’d left for the neighborhood stray cat. Believe me… I did NOT move fast when she was hanging out with me!! I miss her….

  7. ChgoJohn says:

    Fantastic dish, Greg!

  8. Another idea I have never thought of. Asparagus has only come into season here this week. Already had it twice! (Can you tell I am just catching up on blog posts!)

Leave a Reply

