Artisian Crackers

Hey where are the cherries

Hey where are the cherries?

These crackers are really cheap, easy to make and taste great.

Making cracker dough is very similar to pie crust and is a great way to improve your skills at making pastry.

Rosemary Crackers

  • 2 cups – 2 tbsp unbleached white flour
  • 2 tbsp corn meal
  • 1 tsp dried rosemary crumbled into fine pieces
  • 3/4 tsp sugar
  • 3/4 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 4 tbsp butter
  • 1/2 cup hot water

Heat oven to 450 degrees. Mix all dry ingredients together. Cut butter into flour until it resembles coarse crumbs. Add water slowly until a rough dough forms. You may not need the entire half cup. Gently knead dough for a minute into a smooth ball. Cut dough into four pieces and let rest 10 minutes. On a well-floured surface roll out one piece of dough until it is paper thin and the counter can be seen through it. Transfer dough to a greased baking sheet. Slice sheet of dough with a pizza cutter into small squares. Bake until crackers are light brown on the edges and crispy, about 10 minutes. Continue to roll out dough and bake until all crackers are done. Let cool on a wire rack before storing in an airtight container.

About Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

This blog attempts to collect some of the things I try to create with food and booze. Sometimes I succeed and sometimes I fail. My hope is to entertain and maybe help people think a little harder about what they decide to eat and drink.
This entry was posted in Appetizers, Food, Recipes, vegetarian and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Artisian Crackers

  1. A_Boleyn says:

    I’d be tempted to crush the dried rosemary in my mortar and pestle and run the dough through my pasta machine. Too much? :)

  2. Jueseppi B. says:

    Reblogged this on The ObamaCrat™.

  3. ChgoJohn says:

    These look great, Greg. Making crackers for the first time was a revelation — and I haven’t bought any since.

  4. Eva Taylor says:

    I used to make crackers all the time, using my pasta maker attachment on my KitchenAid mixer! I love rosemary flavouring; adding coarse sea salt would be amazing too.

  5. on-ke says:

    Sent from my iPad

    >

  6. You know guys, I love your blog. I don’t know how you keep up the daily recipes, but kudos to you both, because they’re always interesting and delicious looking. Just today I contemplated making crackers, as my youngest son seems to want to eat them constantly, and here you are with a recipe. Thank you! Do you reckon I can roll these out on the pasta machine?

  7. Lovely and so much better for you than shop bought ones (cheaper too)!

Leave a Reply

