Asian Fusion Slaw

Asian mixed with southern

Asian mixed with southern

This recipe works well as a side for barbecue or stir fry. The flavors of the raw cabbage and Asian ingredients really work well. Chopped peanuts or cilantro can be added as well.

Asian Coleslaw

  • 1 small green cabbage cored and sliced into thin ribbons
  • 1 large carrot grated
  • 1/2 sweet onion sliced paper thin then quartered
  • 2 tbsp sushi rice vinegar
  • 1 tbsp soy sauce
  • 1 tbsp brown sugar
  • 2-4 squirts Sriracha sauce
  • 1 tbsp sesame oil
  • 2 tbsp sesame seeds

Mix the vegetables together in a large bowl. In another bowl mix everything else but sesame seeds. Pour dressing over cabbage and mix well. Refrigerate for an hour, then top with sesame seeds and serve.

 

 

About Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

This blog attempts to collect some of the things I try to create with food and booze. Sometimes I succeed and sometimes I fail. My hope is to entertain and maybe help people think a little harder about what they decide to eat and drink.
This entry was posted in Food, Recipes, Sides, vegetarian and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Asian Fusion Slaw

  1. Matthew says:

    Reblogged this on Carolina Mountain Blue and commented:
    No words need be said here…

  2. I’ve used a similar combination of ingredients in a quick cabbage stir fry. It came from the vintage cook book “Poor Cook” by Caroline Conran and was called Chang’s Cabbage. The Sriracha sauce was not part of it….I had never heard of it before I started blogging and had contact with cooks in the US.

  3. I have to try this too, as long as I have cabbage, peanuts and cilantro.

  4. Eva Taylor says:

    I made something similar last night. It’s definitely very refreshing and light.

  5. What a great side dish to any Asian inspired meal.

  6. Although I don’t usually eat spicy foods, this coleslaw sounds delicious!

  7. Makes me hungry, my friend. But it is not on my hotel’s room service menus, so I will go for my usual Wanton Soup (don’t like eating in evening). But will try this at home once we are back in May :) Carina

  8. ChgoJohn says:

    Summer’s coming. Bring on the slaws! This one sounds really good, Greg.

  9. Perfectly simple and delicious.

Leave a Reply

