Lavash Crackers

 

They can also be cut into shapes before baking

There are three really big crackers

These crackers are pretty easy to make, taste great and are perfect for dipping or eating by the handful.

I used sesame and poppy seeds, but all sorts of spices and flavors could be used as a topping. Make sure to roll the dough out as thin and evenly as possible. The rolled out dough can be cooked as a solid sheet and broken into pieces after baking or cut into shapes before cooking. The wheat flour adds a nice nutty flavor but using all white flour will create a lighter cracker.

Lavash

  • 2 1/4 tsp yeast
  • 1 1/4 cups warm water
  • 3 cups unbleached white flour
  • 1 cup whole wheat flour
  • 1/4 cup olive oil
  • 2 tbsp sorghum
  • Sea salt
  • Sesame seeds
  • Poppy seeds

Combine yeast with 1/4 cup water in a large mixing bowl and let stand 5 minutes to start. Add flours, olive oil, sorghum, 2 tsp salt and remaining water. Using a hook mix on medium low speed until a rough dough forms. Continue to knead for 10 minutes or until dough is smooth and springs back when pushed with a finger. If too sticky add flour, too dry add water. Cut dough into thirds and let rest for 15 minutes. Preheat oven to 325. Grease three baking sheets well. Roll each third of dough into a 1/8″ thick sheet and drape it over edge of baking sheet. Spray with a light mist of water and sprinkle lightly with seeds and seas salt. Bake for 45 minutes, alternating the position of the trays in the oven every 20 minutes. Crackers are done when brown and crispy. Let cool on wire racks before breaking into pieces.

About Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

This blog attempts to collect some of the things I try to create with food and booze. Sometimes I succeed and sometimes I fail. My hope is to entertain and maybe help people think a little harder about what they decide to eat and drink.
This entry was posted in Appetizers, Food, Recipes, Sides, vegetarian and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Lavash Crackers

  1. A_Boleyn says:

    I love lavash and would love to make some. I guess I could replace the sorghum with honey?

  2. Luckily Ann Boleyn ( the reincarnation in the comment above) explained the sorghum question for me:)

  3. Look great, I know I’d love these. And I too was going to ask the sorghum question!

  4. sallybr says:

    Awesome! Just awesome! I don’t make crackers often enough, which is a shame!

  5. TasteFood says:

    Love these! I’ve never tried making my own.

Leave a Reply

